Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

The Succumbming

Jeques
.
THE SUCCUMBING “ang magparaya”
a poem by Jeques, 2009
.
I cling to the filaments
Of the past to the last strand
For a long time.
Until I can hold no more,
And gave in
Succumbing to the will
Of changes.
.
I awake from the dream
I once lived
That’s hard to keep my distance,
But the fine grains in the time glass
Emptied to its bottom,
So I gave in
Succumbing to the calls
Of the moment.
.
I reached a point
Where the river flowed no more
Where the springs halted
And the last puddle of hope emptied.
.
How could I paint the pain of yielding?
So I just whispered my sighs
To the mangroves
Hoping when the tides return
They would carry my muted chants
To your heart.The winds of long ago
Shall return to visit,
They will blow through the leaves of the mangroves,
The tides shall rise and recede below,
And chant the antiphons of my stories
Again and again and again
‘Til they reach you..

The pain of succumbing to the will of changes,
The acceptance that lost moments never return.

.

No more silent breakfast to share
That I dreamed about many mornings.

.

No more lazy walks in the streets and allowing my feet
Where it would take me.

.

No more reading, finding quietude in the crowd
In some busy coffee shops.

.

No more memories to weave
For the story concluded to a silent halt

.

Like when the last flare of the fireworks
Faded in the night skies ending my fancy
And what’s left is the fume of longing.

.

I gave in and endure
The pain that comes with changes.
I succumb to the over powering force
Of the inevitable end.

.

I awake to the dawning of tomorrow
To breath the fresh air of its promise
Of the bliss that I still have to live.

~
ang magparaya

.

“Mailalarawan ba ang sakit ng pagpaparaya? Ibubulong ko nalang ang nararamdaman sa mga puno ng bakawan. Ang hangin ng nakalipas ay babalik at iihip sa mga dahon ng bakawan. Ang tubig dagat ay tataas at bababa. Paulit-ulit nilang aawitin ang tula ng aking mga kwento hangang ito ay umabot sa iyo.”

Leave a Reply

