Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Autumn Dance

The rhythm slowed

The pitch dropped

The beats from the drums of summer

Are halted ~ adrenaline waned ~

To give way to the mild strumming of the cords

Switching the sound mood to acoustics.

.

The dancers changed costume

In colors, but tinged

With earthy tones.

The stage is decorated with melancholy.

The lights subdued,

Shadows more pronounced

From bright to dim.

.

And then the autumn dance begins.

.

The dancers take their grand entrance from above;

Pirouetting in the air

Following the rhythms of the wind ~

The rustling sound ~ their music.

.

The show enraptures

To a colorful dance

As the players in the grandest

Of the show

Take their fleeting turns

On the stage,

Suspended in mid-air,

Before they take a bow

To an inevitable finale ~

.

One by one ~

.

They fall to the grounds

Of happy ending

Leaving such lovely clutter ~

.

One by one ~

.

They take their corners

Creating colorful tapatries

Covering the earth floors

Like quilts where they become

Momentary insulation

To pulsating inhabitants

Against the impending cold ~

One by one ~

.

They take their exit

To a good autumn rest

And winter sleep ~

.

One by one ~

.

The audience leave the outdoors,

Acquiescent and resigned

To the shelter

Of their roofs, the brick walls

Taking refuge in the hearth

Of the once dormant fireplace

Now awake.

.

One by one

The dancers and the audience leave.

The autumn dance ends

To a freeze.

.

My mind figure skates

As I hear the approaching

Crystal-like sound

Of winter.

7 responses

  1. beautiful,just beautiful.. 🙂

    PM00000060000005430 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm11

  2. Thank you for dropping by my web nook and leaving a mark like lovely footprints forever imprinted on this page with your comment.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    PM00000060000003630 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm11

  3. Vicki

    You captured and defined the essence of my most loved season so beautifully, great job my friend!

    PM00000080000000130 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm11

    • Hi Vicki! It’s a nice surprise to read a comment from you here in my web nook being used to have exchanges with you more in Facebook. Welcome to my quiet nook, I hope you visit more often. You can subscribe here so you will be updated of my latest posts.

      I wish you well.

      ~ Jeques

      PM00000080000001530 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm11

  4. hope everything’s doin fine!

    you have perfectly captured autumn. autumn is my favorite season 🙂

    AM00000070000000530 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

  5. dear jeques,

    how lovely to read this poem and the analogy of it in a dance being performed on stage. i like the sequence and the personified descriptions of entrances and exits of autumn, the show, the tapestries, the quilts and the changing costumes, which reinforces the images of autumn. i like the slow rhythms, the subdued tones, the strumming of the chords and the subdued lights. i like the lengthening of shadows, the deepening dimness and the melancholic state of solitude. this poem has all the right paces and angles that make the imagination at work. truly remarkable indeed. all the best to you.

    AM000000120000000629 10, 2007 at 12:00 am02

  6. Coming from a country with tropical climate we don’t really completely understand the seasons – we only know of rain and shine. When I came here, I tried to write my poems using the seasons as backdrop, to dress up my thoughts or about the seasons completely. Autumn was the first season I wrote in a poem because it was autumn when I arrived in chicago, it’s my favorite season and inspired many of my poems for 5 years now.

    Autumn Dance compared to my earlier autumn poems shows how I now better understand the season and myself as I age. The elements are now in place as I continue to observe and watch autumn each year like I continue to study and understand the seasons within.

    As I’ve previously mentioned, it helps that we see new places to give our poems new backdrops: it helps that I experience the 4 seasons for me to understand better the seasons within. It gave new depths to my works yet the heart of my poems remains for they are anchored in my soul and steadfast.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM000000100000001929 10, 2007 at 12:00 am02

Leave a Reply

