Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Writings On My Wall

I searched my life and found you,
You left your name written on my wall.
Of all the words in colors,
Of all the writings on my wall,
I singled out a special mark:
 
Your name graffito ~
 
The only thing that’s left
To prove that once you came,
But gone.
 
 
What have you written on my wall,
What memory traces spelled
Out from the markings
Of your name?
 
You once turned this wall
Splashed with colors,
But time turned the colors 
Worn and dry.
 
I found myself  stuck here,
And longing ~ guarding graffiti ~
Afraid the oblivious weathers
Of distance erase your name.
 
How much longer could I keep myself still,
How much longer should I wait?
Come back and write on my wall again,
Re-paint the memories with me.
Once more, turn my life splashed with colors
My wall awaits
Ever anticipating your return.
 
But if fate would not bring you back,
I ask the weather of time, be kind.
Take all the writings on my wall
But leave your name forever inscripted,
Your imprint lives on
And on.
 
Graffiti like memories fade over time,
But not your name~  
It’s embedded with my epitaph ~
Your name graffito forever safe
 
In my unwavering heart.
 
 
 
2 responses

  1. dear jeques,

    i enjoy this poem immensely and it leaves an indelible mark in my memory about the grafittis on the walls and the name. what a way to express your deep longing for someone who had been part of your life once. the hope. the distance. the heartache. all conjured to combine in this beautiful poem. i love these lines,

    ” What have you written on my wall,

    What memory traces spelled

    Out from the markings

    Of your name?…”

    this is resonant and evokes the feeling of nostalgia. i am thrilled to read more of your poems and come back to the place where our poetic exchanges had begun. all the best to you 🙂

    AM00000020000000329 10, 2007 at 12:00 am02

  2. Marvin,

    Perhaps somewhere on your wall echoes some markings, and voices from memory that’s resonant to what’s expressed in this poem – included in my new travel poetry collection – inspired by a place, a warehouse: the anderson dock marina filled with name grafitti in Ephraim which I visited during my autumn vacation in Door county, Wisconsin.

    I’ve been out seeing new places to bring my poetry to new spheres, give my poem new sense of place but the heart of each poem remains – for indeed, you can take a man out in the world but his heart always dwells where it finds its home.

    My poems may change its backdrops, or the soundtrack may switch from upbeat, to acoustic, to mellow and back, but my truth always stays, deeply anchored for it is ingrained and it could only speak my voice – of a waif – longing, waiting, hoping, believing to find the promise of that one chance, of forever.

    My poetry simply defines my voice, my heart.

    Thanks for your visit, you will always be one of the most beautiful writings on my wall.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM000000100000003729 10, 2007 at 12:00 am02

Leave a Reply

