Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Testing the Waters

I moved my foot ~

Hesitant ~

Forward.

Something inside

Holds me back,

Reluctant.

“Testing the Waters” pencil, pen and ink on paper by Jeques Jamora, 2011

Please Click sound button for the soundtrack of the poem >>>

I dipped my toes

Testing the waters

To find something

I searched.

To splash colors

On my pallid thoughts.

Feel the quintessence

Of a dream;

To arouse from a shallow sleep.

Things surreal. Still.

Illusory like the gentle touch

Of my toes

On the waters

That form only

Little undulations

On the surface ~

Now I wonder,

If you’ve ever felt

And remember my presence

In a quiet day

When my toes

Created tiny ripples,

Gone.

Leave a Reply

