Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Remembering My First Snow

November 29, 2006

I feel restless unable to stay focused on my review class. There is that unsettling force of a child in me that could not wait. I tried to keep my eyes and ears to the lecture reminding myself that I need this review and I need to pass the NCLEX. But the longer I stay seated the more I become uncomfortable unable to absorb the lessons. My mind is somewhere outside.

I excused myself out, taking the heat for a reason ~ it was turned high because of the anticipated snow storm tonight. I need a fresh air to breath. I went out of the building with only my sweater on to find out what makes this child-like unsettling force in me.

My eyes sparkle, I shiver from the mix cold and excitiement. I raise my head to the heavens, I opened my palms and my arms in acceptance ~ and for the first time, the snow touched my brown skin.

That is how I’m going to remember my first snow. You just don’t understand how that feels. I was 34 when I first saw and felt the snow alight on my brown skin. The child inside me waited for that moment. It was bliss.

The morning after.

I draw the curtain open and from the window I saw the world around me had turned white overnight. I view it wide-eyed like a child. The images of the lovely tracks of vehicles and shoes in the snow-covered grounds was captured in mind and printed in my heart forever.

~

Today, already an RN, I walk fast the concrete side walk, cotton soft to my steps with 5 inches of snow that carpet my path. The icy winds brush my my face with frozen kisses carrying my thoughts to distant past. I watch a child viewing a postcard of snow dreaming of white christmas.

The child has arrived.

(From Jeques’s Journal)

Leave a Reply

