Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

The Year I got Two Summers

Summer, again.

Last february and march, I bathed in the sweetest summer sunshine in my country during my home-coming. It was the beginning of summer in the Philippines and my way of cutting short – to escape – the Chicago winter. When I came back last April, it was springtime and the flowers were in bloom.

This year’s seasons came in such a peculiar cycle for me. I had a short cut of winter, had an early summer that came before springtime and now, it’s summer, again! The precious gift of travelling: it could alter time and the seasons. It did for me.

I am spending most of my summer time outdoors. I’m like a beaver gathering woods building dams to enrich myself with the tools I need for my next writings and paintings or like the old adage said, saving for the rainydays. I thought I need a change of landscape in my works. I need to widen my perspective in both my writing and art and the best way to do that is to spend more time outdoors exploring, gathering woods to build new forms in my creations.

I am afflicted once more of the itch to travel. I don’t really need to go far. A simple walk in the lakeshore, or go further in some corners of the park I have not seen, or discovering some green patch in the city where the fresh air is free, or picking wild flowers along the railroad, or driving through the narrow alleys of the city,  or going to exotic markets of other immigrants like me, or driving interstate, or exploring and viewing the city from a different angle like I did yesterday going for the breath-taking River and Lake architectural tour of Chicago.

We can’t just sit and write poetry or create arts all the time, sometimes we need to go out and live it, too.

Breath-taking river and lake architectural tour of Chicago.

(formerly)Sears Tower, now Willis Tower.

Closer view of the Willis Tower

The bridges we see in movies that give way to ships.

Water gateway to the great Lake Michigan

Short break at the boat’s cafeteria

The Trump tower and hotel

Jeques, July 26, 2010. Wendella River and Lake Architectural Tour of Chicago.

2 responses

  1. these are stunning.
    cool images,
    fabulous smiles.

    PM00000020000003331 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

  2. http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/07/28/happy-25th-anniversary-to-alan-a-poet-we-respect/

    help say hello to a fellow poet if you have a moment,
    thanks!
    😉

    PM00000020000005131 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

Leave a Reply

