Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Fortitude

~
Let me bring you to a place
In the nook of my mind,
Where silence is a sound,
Quietude is music;
Where the slightest of movement
Ripples to waves like the tide
That rise and recedes.
.
Tag-along with my mind thriving,
Walking this winding paths
Down hills, up slopes, climbing
Grassy, sandy, rocky tracks
And cobblestone alleys.
.
Come with me as my thoughts
Traverse this zigzag roads
Of sudden sharp turns and curves
In my descend down the highways,
And climbs up the mountains;
Following the voice calling my name
Always some hundreds steps ahead ~
Leaving me dainty signals to trail
Not knowing what comes in the end,
But still I abide.

"Leaf" pen, ink and pencil on paper by Jeques B. Jamora, 2010

Stay beside me as I try to understand
The faint signs and traces
That would bring me where I am headed
Keep me awake when the body gives up
And lassitude put me in a trance ~
Hold my hand ~
Help me keep the wheels on the road.
.
Wipe my tears when the storm pours
So I could see clearly my way
Even when the rainfalls cloud the windshield
Of my thoughts, blocked to zero visibility.
.
Share the silence in my reconnaissance
As the sun creeps back ahead
Lighting the terrains of the morrow
Where my home awaits.

"Leaf 2" pen, ink and pencil on paper by Jeques B. Jamora

Disembark with me when I reach a summet.
Sit with me for awhile on the green beds of grass
On a cliff over-seeing the world bordered with white fences
That give me a picture of what has been.
The reasons for winding roads now making sense
As I look back to see the marks I left
On the pages forming definite meaning.
.
Hope with me as I look forward
To the map marked by the stars
That reveal sheer preview of the journeys to come.
.
Here we are in a stop over,
Be my witness as I ready myself to jump ~
My faith as my parachute,
Trusting your hands to catch me in my leap
As I paint my way to the roads
Until I find my way home
With you.
~
Jeques, 2010. From his “Traveler’s Soliloquies” poetry collection.
Jeques is reading the book of one of his favorite authors, Robert Fulghum’s “Third Wish,” a 5 volume novel – he’s currently on the first volume.
~
5 responses

  1. I need hardly say that I feel total admiration for words spoken with such passion and warmth. So beautiful. Warm wishes ~ Amanda x

    PM00000070000004030 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm06

  2. absurdoldbird

    A beautiful poem that deserves to be read more than once and beautiful drawings that deserve to be viewed more than once, so I shall be back later.
    🙂

    Val

    AM00000060000003331 10, 2007 at 12:00 am07

  3. jeques,

    there are three words i can describe what this poem is all about; faith, hope and love. and love is the greatest. love for the motherland. among the many turns and travels your heart has already gone, your longing for home is evident in these lines. how fragile are your memories as you have tried the retain only the bright and beautiful thoughts of yesterday. the strength you have built within will abide in you for the longest possible time to weather out the storms that will come into your life. i wish you courage and the flourishing of your already inspiring life.

    best of times,
    marvin

    PM000000120000002831 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

    • The leaf and the drawing was the starting point of this poem – When I picked the leaf from the garden, it’s curly form makes it seem hard to draw but I wanted to draw it.

      There is no problem too hard, it just need to be understood – so came the words, the poetry forming in my head as I tried to understand the turns and curves of this bizzare looking curly leaf like in fortitude, we only need to understand the problem to find the way out and find that every turns and curves and rise and fall are necessary paths to take to complete the circle of the every journey we take.

      After finishing the drawing of the leaf and seeing the complete picture is the same as looking back and finding the beautiful trails we left behind. And isn’t it beautiful to have somebody beside us to witness the journey? The book Third Wish by Robert Fulghum helped me tied the thoughts together like a bundle of twigs into a beautiful gift of poetry.

      I wish you well.

      ~ Jeques

      PM000000120000005631 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

  4. lovely as always…
    Happy July 4th!

    PM00000060000003231 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

Leave a Reply

