Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Things Empty

~

Not known, unborn,

Formless ~

Devoid of color ~

Nameless

Shape, undifferentiated;

Meaning, undefined.

Muted thoughts,

Page worthless

Awaiting, searching

Orphaned words

In pariah.

Things empty

Empty

Empty

Emptiness limns

This heart

This hollow chamber

Awaiting to be filled.

"reeds" ink on paper by Jeques B. Jamora, 2010

 Til something in the hollow

Begun to pound

In genial thumps

Of dreams, in black and white

Conceived

In traces of ambiguous outlines

Forming silhouettes

Of things to come

To fill

Things empty

Empty

Empty

Emptiness enfolds

Each tiny drop of hope

Building up to brim, in time.

The progress of time I befriend ~

Each speck in the passage

I give a name

As details unfolds

Now known, alive

In ripe colors

"reeds" pencil, pen and ink on paper by Jeques B. Jamora, 2010

 Shapes defined, forms in certainty.

Words finding voice

Coming home

To the hearth of the longing page

Ending my moments of pariah

Waif no more

And learned.

All the elements in the passage,

Everything about myself

I accepted

Loving things empty

Empty

Empty

Emptiness begets fresh slate

And what’s next.

 

Now that excites me.

~

Footnotes:

I’m half through 2010. The first half of the year was a whirlpool of events for me with things happening fast-paced. In hindsight:

January, 2010 – preparations for my second home-coming which I started to plan in 2008 during my unplanned vacation for my father’s funeral. Ticket booking, pasalubong, sketching itineraries, and above that was submitting my resume to Hospitals I intend to get employment in my return from my grand two months vacation. And then the doubts from getting few calls considering my too long absence before I would be available for work. But I was certain of my priority – I’m going for my vacation, period.

February, 2010 – I didn’t renew my contract with my petitioner/former employer, and submitted my resignation in spite the uncertainty of my job hunting which I temporarily put on hold. February 7 was my last day at work. February 9 was my flight to the Philippines to catch up for valentines day which was part of my itinerary for a surprise Valentines date with my mother.

I only have one thought in mind: “Jump and the net will appear.” I’ve always been a risk taker, at 37 I still am. I just love the adrenaline rush that comes with it.

February to March, 2010 – Vacation, Reunions, Tourist to my own country, sweet moments with my nephews and nieces, memorable time with mamang, bonding with my siblings. Name it, I did everything! I totally shut myself from worries. I lived the moment. I did.

March 16, 2010 – I received an email from the Talent Acquisition manager of the hospital I am currently working, inviting me to submit my resume for possible employment. I did and put a note: The applicant is currently on vacation to his country until April 2, 2010. He will be available for interview after April 5, 2010.

April 2, 2010 – Flight back to Chicago – satiated from my vacation. It is something I did in life that I felt a certain fulfillment and there was nothing left undone from my plan. No single stone unturned, no unfinished business. I emtied myself, for it is only by letting go of our grips for something that we could open our palms and accept things new. I’m just so ready for things to come, like a fresh slate ready for new marks to form in my slab.

April 5, 2010 – I receieved a call from the same person who sent me the email and had an instant interview over the phone. After passing some series of questions, I was recommended to meet with the Chief Clinical Officer for a personal interview the next day. I missed this process of hiring, I’m enthused to go through the process. The interview went well and my application was forwarded to the next phase: Panel interview with a team to gauge if I would fit in to organization. I was found to fit the requirements for the job by the team of 5 during the interview and went further through the hiring process – it was a long process, but I found it fulfilling in the end and financially rewarding, too.

The company I’m working now belongs to the Fortune’s top 500, and was awarded by the renowned Fortune Magazine in 2009 as the most admired company.

May 10, 2010 – Start of my Orientation/Training. You thought my employment was secured? I also thought, and then an unannounced examination like a mini-NCLEX that could either make or break my present status with the company. Call it stress to the highest level. I passed the test and hurdled the last barrier between me and the company, now I feel like I totally belong. 

It’s adjustment since. I never felt vulnerable for a very long time like this. It’s like growing new skin, like taking new form from nothingness, like embracing each tiny drop of learning from every moment –  it is good to be here at this time – what surprised me most is knowing myself to be still receptive to things new like a raw material that could still be molded to my best form.

The first half of the year taught me a major lesson: to learn to love things empty. For at the end of the day it’s really upto us what we would become as we evolve from the new start point no matter which part of life we already are. This is mine.

I wish you well.

~ Jeques, 2010. From his Traveler’s Soliloquies poetry collection.

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. jeques,

    i understand what you meant about emptiness. i have been there a lot of times. and its true that when you totally surrender all that you have to give and knowing that you don’t have to be afraid of tomorrow, latter becomes greater than the past. it is when life seems to be tilting off-centered that we had the chance to look at life in a different perspective. i love this moment, when hope is the only thing that keeps you alive.

    great news that you manage to rebound once more and glad that you are back to your bloghome page again. i missed a lot of your writing and hope that a new book will be opened and your creative lines flow springs anew.

    best of times,
    marvin

    AM00000040000004530 10, 2007 at 12:00 am06

    • Marvin,

      It is hard these days to balance my time between the things I need to do and the things I wanted to do. Something should take the back seat for now, and it’s sad that it has to be my art. I’m like a plane taking off so I have to follow the basic rules in flying – keep focused, seat belts fasten, no extra movements and to keep my eyes forward – that is how things are for now.

      I give more time for the things that I need to do, the things that would bring food to the table and when things are settled, I would be better again doing things that I really wanted to do that would bring much joy to my heart.

      I wish you well.

      ~ Jeques

      AM000000100000004930 10, 2007 at 12:00 am06

  2. http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/06/19/thursday-poets-rally-week-23-poetry-awards-special-notice/

    all 5 awards for you.
    many thanks!
    😉

    No Rally next week.

    PM00000090000004030 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm06

  3. Ethan is a great friend. And one of the biggest Bonzai trees I have seen.

    You use the word emptiness, reminds me of the word nothing. The word that Shakespeare used more than any other word in his plays.
    http://www.lovelikewater.wordpress.com

    PM00000020000003830 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm06

Leave a Reply

