Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Deciphered

.
I once carefully picked
Pieces of letters from my tool box
And put them together
To form words,
Unintelligible.
.
I colored them dabs of meaning
Recollecting from lines
Of misty memories
Playing sad soundtracks
In pastel blues.
.
I put aside
Letters left unused.
They don’t strum
A single cord of sentiments
For now, there meaningless colors
Belonged to the empty space
Of the narratives,
Unintelligible,
That I left pending.

bougainvillea, unfinished drawing from home. Pencil, pen and ink on paper by Jeques B. Jamora, 2010

.
In my return,
I carefully uncover
Scribblings left unfinished
That I kept in my tool box,
To search for meaning
In the marks that brought back
Misty memories of sadness,
Unfathomed.
.
I traced back the lines
And re-called the thoughts
Behind the colors,
unraveled each pigment
Of the blue-tinged page,
Understood.
.
I carefully re-arranged the words,
Blend the dabs of colors
To find concealed happy hues awaiting to burst
Obscured by my limited understanding,
Emancipated.
.

Bougainvillea, completed drawing in Chicago. Pencil, pen and ink on paper by Jeques B. Jamora, 2010

.
You are a gift of my careful pursuits,
Transfiguring on the page 
That I patiently waited.
You are the produce from my labor~
.
Like a child to a mother
Hearing the child’s first cry,
Laid on her breast
Feeling the fragile life
Breathing, throbbing pulses
Of veins carrying pieces of her.
.
.
Like you,
Each word,
Each dab of colors,
A reflection of my soul ~
.
A tribute to my mother ~
 .
Deciphered.

"Mamang" and us, her Children(L-R): Nene Irene, Nong Jhuls, Nang Thez, Mamang and me(Jeques)

—–

Happy Mother’s Day to Mamang, my Sisters and all the mothers in the world!

For all the lines that I have written,

And every word that I have spoken,

A piece of me is taken.

For every time I send my greetings,

It is my heart that I am sending.

—–

Jeques, 2010. From his “Traveler’s Soliloquies” poetry collection.

3 responses

  1. jeques,

    what a wonderful tribute for mother’s day. i can sense the feeling of homesickness in your poem. the connection that was temporarily abrupted by distance, which i hope that the bonds between your mother, sisters, brother continues to linger on. blood is really thicker than water.

    the artwork proves to be an anchor point for this poem, in which it has clarified the need for connection. in our lifetime, we often understood, that no matter how far our journeys are, our memories of home is like an imaginary cord tugging us closer and closer, wishing for the next homecoming.

    hope you are well. have a blessed week ahead.
    marvin

    AM00000050000000731 10, 2007 at 12:00 am05

  2. http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/06/16/thursday-poets-rally-week-23-june-17-23-2010/

    I invite you to join our weekly Thursday Poets Rally,
    As a fresh or first time participant,
    what you do is to comment under my post with a poem link,
    let me know,
    comment 18 poets from the perfect poet award winner list under the participants list on top…
    then let me know and done….

    poetry awards will be assigned based on your comments and poem contribution…

    Happy Thursday!
    BEST!
    😉

    AM00000020000001330 10, 2007 at 12:00 am06

  3. http://itistimetothinkformyself.blogspot.com/2010/06/magpie-tale-18-voice-of-pencils.html

    Welcome to sign up to follow Jingle officially,
    comment for the poem,
    Pick up awards from previous post,
    enjoy the fun being surounded by friends in our community…
    Smiles!

    PM00000010000005330 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm06

Leave a Reply

