Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

The Road Stretches

 

A course to tread,

A path laid

For my limp strides

For my newfangled mind to measure.

To re-invent purpose,

Build destinations.

To carve uncharted frontiers

With my feet, like a chisel

To leave enduring marks.

 

Let my trodden tracks

Be my sculptural gift to the morrow,

My immortal artwork

In praise of my maker

Who engineered my body

With feet to explore,

Hands to do,

Fecund imagination

Skilled to create worlds

To conquer,

And a heart

Ingrained with flames,

Unyielding

To ferocious weathers

Of traveling.

 

The road stretches,

It doesn’t stop

Where my eyesight ends

It goes far beyond the borders

Of the map I need to dump

If I am to leave a legacy

With my chiseled tracks

In the bereft grounds

Of dreaming.

 

 

(Jeques, 2009. from his poetry collection, “Travelers Soliloquies”)

2 responses

  1. jeques,

    i am trying to decipher your inspirations for doing this poem. what i have understood from your poem, is that you are trying to do good and contribute to the betterment of tomorrow, using the images of chisel and scuplturing of the days ahead. your visions are far-reaching to tomorrow where you are brimming with hope. as always, this is a positive poem and in allignment to your poetry collection on travelling.

    your poetry and art is your vehicle towards that realization. and i am confident that you can be able to achieve them soon.

    best of times,
    marvin

    PM00000090000004331 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm10

  2. Marvin,

    The poem, “The Road Stretches” is symbolic of my reaching a certain pinnacle of understanding and finding that the path I took don’t stop where it ends in my field of vision. The road stretches farther to new frontiers beyond the borders that our imagination is capable of reaching. Yes, the poem is all about my finding way for my works, for my paintings, for my arts. I still stuggle figuring out how to present them effectively to a certain audience. I’m in the road struggling to arrive to a destiantion, and it excites me to see new pictures slowly revealing as I move forth.

    The poem could simply be taken, encouraging the reader to leave a mark in everything we do, no matter how simple they are using the metaphor of a chisel carving our tracks likened to our feet painting our paths with our trails.

    This idea also came from an art book I’ve read about contemporary drawings presenting wide range of mediums not limited to the more popular conventional things we know. In that book, it mentioned that a path in the grassy grounds created by humans traversing the area is artwork using the empty ground as canvas. Anther book I read, said about the gorges created by water streams like a river, takes million of years to create and some of them started from a trickle of water long time ago, and they are artworks by nature engraved in the terrains of the earth.

    All this ideas I gathered in this poem, which I simplified in a soliloquy of a traveler reaching that pinnacle of undertanding seeing what there is to see ahead and finding the purpose why he has to do it.

    The poem aims to offer possibilities, the possibilities that I first uncovered for myself
    as I hunt for fortunes during pondering. My trodden tracks I chiseled with my feet is the gift I give back to my maker and to the world who helped and is helping me find my way.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM00000010000005631 10, 2007 at 12:00 am10

Leave a Reply

