Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Breaking Grounds

 

Here I am pursuing

In endless circles

On and on

Wandering, wondering

Where’s this circular course

Taking me,

Where’s this ring going?

 

Like the fan blades

In the dining,

Grating, squeaking in the ceiling

Racing overhead.

 

Like the propellel

At the boat’s rear

My mother once showed me

Stuck in my memory

Of things turning

Around an axis

Aimless.

 

I did my laundry

The other day,

And lost myself

With the motion

Of my clothes spinning,

So did my head

Juggling with thoughts

As the Wheels,

And mills,

The clock running

Round in circles

But really,

Where is it going

When it ends where it begins?

 

I hear an alarm

Of high pitched signal,

My laundy is done.

The machine pukes

Fragrant vomitus:

My clothes smelling the scents

Of spring and renewal

Like my mind

Finding new meanings:

 

The fan in the dining

Brings me air

Of homey comfort

Makes beef stew rice topping

Tastes like what my mother

Used to feed me

From my distant memory of home.

 

The propellel at its rear

“Mamang” directed my young mind

In my first boat ride

Brought me faraway,

Closer to my destination.

 

As the Wheels,

And mills

The clock running

Round in circles

And me pursuing

This ring course,

Breaking grounds

Widening scope

For reasons

 

That some day,

 

My nephews and nieces

Would grow up

To understand.

 

* “Mamang” a name we call our mothers in some regions in the Philippines.

(Jeques, 2009. From his A Traveler’s Soliloquies poetry collection)

 

 

3 responses

  1. jeques,

    i have finally understood what this poem is all about after a third read. maybe, because today, my mind is focused to read. and how hopeful this poem as it discusses the monotonous grind of just living to our days. while unknowingly, every turn in circles is a blessing or a purpose in disguise. we never know.

    i like these lines the best as it confronts with a question “So did my head

    Juggling with thoughts

    As the Wheels,

    And mills,

    The clock running

    Round in circles

    But really,

    Where is it going

    When it ends where it begins?”

    exactly, i have had the same questions too, though,up to this time i am trying to figure it out. the beauty of this poem lies in the sprightly blessing of the ordinary, and the wheel who make you travel in this life brimming with hope is your mother.

    this poem is easy to read, i remember that you want your mother to understand your verses this way.

    best of times,
    marvin

    PM00000070000000230 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

    • Marvin,

      You’re right, the poem intends to confront the “Why”, personal questions of one’s pursuit that appears to be only going round in circles no end, in a journey within the “Ring Course” – I don’t actually like my title, hehehe!

      I was once asked by one of my young nieces why I have to resign from my job back in the Philippines, apply for another and work abroad – I only gave her partial answer because I didn’t also understood then, but I carried that question with me when I left the country. Really, why did I chose to be away from the family and why I have to do all these, going around circles?

      I have to go back to memories to find hints of clue and answer to these questions. Slowly, some light of understanding showed itself to me. We don’t really go just around that ring course, for every circle we complete widens our scope, and for me I feel that I need to do this because I wanted to offer my nephews and nieces better options in life. By widening my scope, in the process, I gave them better view of the world and when the time comes when they have to chose their own courses in life, they would have better options.

      For the record, I am the first person in the family, both in my mother and father’s side to immigrate to another country – the history of both families shows that we have in our bloods the thirst for travelling and to explore but our ancestors were limited only within the country. In a way, I am breaking grounds of new possibilities for the younger generation of our family.

      Perhaps in time, everything that I do would answer that catalystic question one of my nieces asked me then, and that I hope in time they would grow up to understand.

      Oh, I think I found the right title to this poem.

      “BREAKING GROUNDS”

      That’s rather perfect!

      I wish you well.

      ~ Jeques

      PM000000100000005430 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

  2. jeques,

    the title you chose is perfect, it is also a word inside your poem. how edgy!

    your dreams for your family is profound and noble. continue to be strong and always hoping. someday, your nephews and nieces will come back to you in gratitude, for discovering that they, too, can be able to forge new territories, breaking grounds.

    best of times,
    marvin

    PM00000060000004230 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

Leave a Reply

