Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Caged

 

Briefly

Our hands clasped

Against the grated wire screen

Separating

Keeping

Our worlds closely

Apart.

 

It’s a painful union.

 

We see the flowers,

But we can’t pick them.

A banquet is laid 

On the table,

But we can’t celebrate

The feast

Together.

We both have wings

Watching the unfriendly

Sky

But only one

Of us 

Is free to fly.

 

You pulled me

Closer ~

“Does love hurts

Like when the barbs

Pierce the palms? “

Being close to you

Feels painfully

That good.

 

I draw you

Towards me,

But you hesitate

Acquiesced to the customs

Of your world

That defines

A different you

From what I know.

 

I don’t have a heart

To force you out

To my world,

Even if it would mean

Your freedom ~

 

If the barbs

Pierce your wings.

 

I know how that hurts.

 

I let go

Of our clasped hands

And free you

In your cage ~

Aversely ~

I claim the Sky

To a lonely flight.

 

I am free.

 

(Jeques, 2009. From his A Traveler’s Soliloquies poetry collection)

 

One response

  1. “I let go Of our clasped hands And free you In your cage ~
    Aversely ~ I claim the Sky
    to a lonely flight. I am free.” this line is best saved for the last. heart-wrenching.

    i am equally surprised of the ending. yeah, it was a commentary apt to the present circumstance when you have tried to uplift somebody’s life. but they have chosen to wallow in pain and desperation. no matter how much you wanted them to be free. its beyond help, if they themselves would not want to be free.

    such a conradiction as you have effectively laid down in this poem. quite effective and a life viewed from a different angle. another beautiful poem with a different twist.

    best of times,
    marvin

    PM00000060000000030 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

Leave a Reply

