Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Candle Keeper

 

I unearthed you that winter,

And discovered in solstice

That I am your keeper.

 

You’re the incessant blaze

That burns inside me,

You’re my built-in hearth.

Like the fireplace,

My chamber is made of bricks

I guard your flame,

I am the candle keeper.

 

You need me to keep your light

I need you to warm me.

 

Together,

We await in hope

For the vernal equinox.

But remember,

That even in the gray

Of frozen days,

 We endure

The turmoil

Of the seemed endless blizzards ~

We bloom in gloom.

 

You’re the relentless flare

That lit the wintry alleys

When doldrums

Overtook my sanguinity.

 

I coat you,

Steadfast,

Bearing frost bite

And the stings

Of Defeat.

 

I am in your keeping from inside,

I safeguard you

From the harsh world outside.

Your glowing amber

And my unwavering strides

Steer us forth.

 

I see us,

Together,

 

In springtime.

 

(Jeques, 2009. From the Traveler’s Soliloquies poetry collection)

 

 

3 responses

  1. jeques,

    such a hopeful poem again. the descriptions were vividly seen from my memory. the candle’s flame will never quiver under the weight of the winter winds. such a strong and firm resolve against the odds of time. life’s troubles were just passing and would never stay that long, the hopeful tone of this poem strengthened the feeble hearted.

    i like this line best “You’re the relentless flare That lit the wintry alleys When doldrums
    Overtook my sanguinity.” such a powerful imagery, i almost can feel the sting of the cold weather. you have done a marvelous writing this piece. certainly one of your best.

    best of times,
    marvin

    PM00000090000005630 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

  2. Jeques, this is you at your best! Such lovely words. To feel for someone in the way you describe is wonderful, but to find the words with which to descibe it is a heaven sent gift.

    AM000000120000005530 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

  3. I agree with Keith, this is one of your best poems that I’ve read Jeques. We all need to guard to nurture the flame that keeps us going, that keeps us vibrant, that keeps us unique and different. Bravo Jeques!

    Hugs, G

    PM00000080000004730 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

Leave a Reply

