Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Morning Panes(tanka/painting series)

  “Morning Panes”(Tanka and painting) series #1 of 3
   
Dreams sojourn ~
 Whimsy reflections
 On morning panes ~
 
Coquetting the mind
Crooning dormant soul.
 
"morning panes" #1 oil on canvas 30x40, by Jeques B. Jamora “morning panes” #1 oil on canvas 30×40, by Jeques B. Jamora

 

"morning panes" series #1 to 3 “morning panes” series #1 to 3
“Morning Panes” (Tanka and Painting) series #2 of 3 
  
Dormant soul
Hatching, awaiting
Dawn’s misty kiss ~
 
Artist awakens
Broods nestle on trees.
 
"morning panes" #2 oil on canvas 30x40, by Jeques B. Jamora, 2009 “morning panes” #2 oil on canvas 30×40, by Jeques B. Jamora, 2009

 

 
morning panes
 
“Morning Panes” (Tanka and Painting) series #3 of 3
 
  
Courage ingrained
Inside broken soul’s
Callus chest ~
  
Anticipating sunrise
Awaiting to exhale.
"morning panes" #3 oil on canvas 38x48, by Jeques B. Jamora “morning panes” #3 oil on canvas 38×48, by Jeques B. Jamora
.
I have paintings conceived from poems.
 
The images of these paintings initially presented themselves to me in words. Morning Panes, a painting series of 3(at least for now, there is more to it) is one of them. It first came to me in a poem I composed in 2003. The poem visited me in a peculiar dream of a dream within a dream. I believe many of us had experienced that, dreaming in our dream, waking up still asleep. Or is it only me?
 
That dream is a tiny drop of inspiration that created ripples of poetry series. I used to write a lot, I had the freedom of time back home and I can afford to really sit down and study my thougths and dreams in my morning pages. In 2003 I wrote the poem, Images Of You. . . 

 
In my dream
I watch you in your sleep.
My heart feels glad,
My heart leaps.
  
Images of you haunt me ~
  
From the time I wake,
‘Til my sleep.

 

That dream was so vivid I immediately wrote a poem when I awake. The imagery from the dream and the words in the poem lingered in my thoughts which I first expressed visually in a drawing, My Morning Pane, Februay, 2005. It is a self-sketch of myself on bed in my room back home in the Philippines which is the original setting of the dream, the poem, the painting.
"my morning panes" pencil on paper by Jeques, 2005 
“my morning panes” pencil on paper by Jeques, 2005
 
In 2006, I wrote another poem from the same inspiration, Evanescent Romance, this poem fits well in series #2 of the painting. Note the change of the window from the previous, it represents the many rooms we sleep and the multitude of window panes we wake up with in our lifetime yet dreaming the same dreams. Here’s the poem: 
 

We are joined by our hearts’ seeking radars.
 Our souls converge at midnight’s deep blue skies.
 We talk, our words are the infinite stars.
 We feel so intimate with our closed eyes.
 Our unions are chronicled by my pen.
 The winds’ soft whistles signal your presence.
 Your image flickers through my window pane ~
 Silhouette of my dream-lover’s essence.
 In my mind I touch the face of heaven,
 When you croon to me lovesongs of silence.
   Bliss is what my thoughts of you has given.
 You illumined my lonely existence. 
Romance confined in shadows of the night. 
 ‘Tis evanescent with the morning light.

 

These are some of the few poems I wrote that ended up on canvas, in visual form, in paintings.
 
But there are also inspirations that presented themselves to me first in visual arts. They become drawings, or sketches, or paintings instantly. In these instances, my brushstrokes are my words to create imageries that frequent my thoughts.
  
To complete the circle of poems becoming paintings and paintings becoming poems, I used the painting series, “Morning Panes” as subject and inspiration to my poems for this week’s workshop on the ancient poetry form: the Tanka. It dates back to the 7th century. A poem of five lines of 5/7/5/7/7 syllable count respectively. I strictly followed this rules in the previous Tanka’s I composed but in the workshop I attend, I learned the freedom from the Tanka minimalists, and the modern american tanka which is less restricting as to the syllable count and rather focusing on the importance of expressing an emotion or deep thought in a concise manner in the five lines which is the true beauty of writing a Tanka. Shorter syllable count in each line when achieved in 19-24 or even shorter in 15 counts at the very least instead of 31 is preferred in the modern tanka.
  
Using the Tanka structure, I took out pictures of my paintings and from the deepest recesses of my core extract words that would best express the brushstrokes. Series #3 of the painting fully express my sentiments as a dormant artist awaiting to exhale, an egg hatching, a seed awaiting for springtime, a child awaiting to be born.
And when I come to think of it, this circle of paintings becoming poems, and the poems’ metamorphosis becoming paintings, I come to realize that there’s really no single strand or line that separates them. When I paint, the brushstrokes are my words. When I write, the words are my brushstrokes to create imageries. Sketches and drawings are my scribbles, my drafts.
  
It is my commitment to my craft to achieve such seamless fusion of my paintings and poetry for both are conceived and born from my heart.
 
  
 *For more of my paintings, please click image to navigate to my art portfolio >>> 
 
 waif

  

7 responses

  1. Each Morning Pane has exquisite beauty! But I especially love the soul essence in #2 ~ the blue version, perhaps because of the tied curtain! This curtain seems to add a feeling of glimpsing a sacred, intimate, secret moment! Also enjoyed your explanation of the tanka!

    Happiness always!

    PM00000020000005731 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

    • jeques

      Gemma,

      We all have versions of morning panes we wake up with in the morning, the paintings here represents some of the many different windows we have in the Philippines being part of my painting collection : “memories from home.”

      I believe looking at some pictures or paintings, there are some things in the images that would make us feel connected and thereby affected. It is my great joy to know the #2 of the series strums the loudest of the cords in your heart.

      I wish you well.

      ~ Jeques

      PM000000100000003431 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

  2. Marvin

    jeques,

    this post is brimming with bountiful harvest of your artistry. you have sustained such immense energy to converge painting and poetry, an excellence which requires the metamorphoses of brilliant inspirations that has transcended through time. the inspirations for poems, in this case don’t really end, it will resurface as a platform for a better poetry. i agree that there is no dividing line in between painting and poetry, as in your case.

    your explorations on tanka is such a gem in learning minimal forms in poetry. minimalism doesn’t mean crude thoughts but a containment of profound semantics in a much clearer and purer strategy devoid of poetic extenders. minimalistic poetry is a refined and sure handling of the poet’s message. i would like to commend you for reposting the Evanescent Romance-” our heart’s seeking radars…our words are the infinite stars…” those were the lines i admire the best.

    as for the painting and the idea about morning panes, i can see in them multi-layered meanings which were subliminally ingrained. who would not be mesmerized on the thought of the morning light streaming down the crystalline surfaces. it was a refreshing start. a re-invigoration. it has so many silent nuances which can be decoded if the reader will only be sensitive and focus to the emphatic handling of brushstrokes and the melting of complimentary colors. you had convey the pure moments in these paintings. i also like the series # 2- i think, because the composition in blue evokes such silent power and heart-felt sentiment.

    more power to you and kudos for your great contribution to the arts.

    best of times,
    marvin

    PM00000020000001731 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

    • jeques

      Such overwhelming review of my works, Marvin.

      Such helpful insights in what my works offer and what more to see.

      It is a joy to know my works are keenly viewed in details and every little specks from my heart strewn all over the tapestries of my works are seen and magnified with your words that would greatly help in guiding other viewers and readers what are there to see and more.

      I can’t thank you enough.

      I wish you well.

      ~ Jeques

      PM000000100000003631 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

  3. the pictures are wonderfull..i like all the pictures.. i am also trying to draw the pictures.. because .. the pictures are boosting my energy..

    PM00000020000002031 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

  4. There is a subtle beauty and simplicity in all your paintings Jeques. Your dreams have certainly moved you to create wonderful, visual works. Well done! I am so glad I stopped in.

    Hugs, G

    PM00000090000003331 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

  5. PS: You have a blog-award waiting over at MPP. Stop by when you can Jeques. Hugs, G

    PM00000080000003331 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

Leave a Reply

