Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Le coeur attend

If I strip off this mind and show you my thoughts, would you like what you will see?
If I open my heart to your view, would you like the pictures that you will see inside?
If I bare my soul naked to your eyes, would you ever learn to love me?
I clad myself with things that I thought you would like me wearing, but went home not recognizing my own reflection in the mirror, so I stripped myself off from the things that the world wanted me to be and view myself as I am.
I befriend my thoughts and got familiar with the terrains of my uncharted mind building my own empire in solitude.
I listen to the songs of my heart and memorized its lyrics as I study paeans of love that this heart dreams to sing for you.
I come to terms with myself, got to know the naked me, caressed the skin of my soul, accepted my flaws and learned to care for the lovely soul inside this body.
051609 012

"Le coeur attend" oil on canvas, 24x30 by Jeques B. Jamora, 2009

 ‘Tis when I fully understood the colors and the shapes and molds, and the forms, and the feel, and everything about my soul that I trully begun to learn to dress up. ‘Tis when I learned to listen to my heart’s songs that I was able to write his poetry. ‘Tis when I completely viewed my soul with all my senses that I was able to limn the images of the empire I inhabit in my mind reflected in the canvas like vignettes from the corners of my imagination.

 

Notice me.

For once,

Just be with me.

See my heart and soul

And let time

Stand still ~

 

Look at me.

Show me the spark

behind those eyes

That you would not

Reveal.

 

Talk to me.

Translate your silence

To words

So I would fathom

The tenderness

In your glances.

 

Write to me.

Send me letters

Of your heart

So you would fill

My empty page,

This void

In my chamber

That patiently

Awaits.

 

Visit me.

Anytime of day

While I’m awake

Or even in my dreams

In my hours

Of sleep.

 

Touch me.

Run your finger tips

On my longing cheeks;

Reach out

For my hands

Awaiting

For your reassuring

Grip.

 

Show me.

What’s behind

Those elusive eyes

So afraid

To stay still

Always looking away

From my direction.

 

Whisper to me.

I want to listen

To your heart

And hear

The language

Of your soul.

Let it speak.

 

Just for a brief moment,

Please look into my eyes,

Let time stand still ~

And be

With me.

(“Notice Me,” from the poetry collection of Jeques B. Jamora, 2008)

How do you like me wearing the fabrics of my soul and not the clothes that the world imposed on me to wear when I was younger?

If I tell you what’s inside this mind, would you like what you will hear?

If I tell you you’re part of the dots and lines I create, that you’re in my every brushstroke, each word, each line, in every piece of me would you even care to notice and listen?

If I tell you I weave my story around you, would you be interested to hear that story or buy the volumes of book I write in my mind about us?

 

Don’t be excited with what you now see,

Don’t love me for what I have so far shown.

Be excited with what else I could do ~

Love me for what more I can show you.

 

If I tell you that my thoughts of you reside with me in an empire, would you decide to live there ~

 

And if I tell you I build us home in my heart,

 

 

Would you come home with me?

 

 

 

~Jeques

.

.

10 responses

  1. anyushka

    that’s a wonderful text. it felt like you found the words that I couldn’t find for myself, being in the same place, finding myself in the same way, with the same solitude. coming home to myself, wishing someone would want to live there with me.

    AM00000020000002130 10, 2007 at 12:00 am06

    • anyyushka,

      It’s is wonderful to know my sentiments expressed in words strum a cord in your heart. That’s one of the best compliments a writer could get. It’s always good to know some people share my own reality.

      Thanks for visiting my web nook and dropping a note. I really wonder if you have your own site I could visit? Please drop me a link.

      I wish you well.

      ~ Jeques

      PM000000100000003130 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm06

      • anyushka

        sorry it took me so long to reply… my blog is at anyushka.wordpress.com. Looking forward to your visit :)!

        PM00000060000004131 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm08

  2. Marvin

    jeques,

    what a way to showcase art combining prose, poetry and painting! this is such a powerful piece and indeed an engaging one. it’s a dramatic monologue, where the questions were confrontational and the words that flow from a confessional heart, seeking truthful answers and responses. the reader is compelled to read this in all honesty and sincerity.

    most of the time, people are afraid to confront their true selves, naked in the mirror of honesty. people are afraid to show their true intentions and emotions. but this written piece shattered the boundaries and the limitations of self to express. the courage and the strength of character is evident and i salute the writer for his bravery and mastery of his will to be true in the face of alienation and rejection.

    it is not easy to love. true love has been distorted a lot of times by those who take it so easy. it is very hard to love reciprocally, in the same intensity of thought and of affection. but no matter how hard it is, what is important in this world is to love and be loved in return.

    keep on jeques, and dont stop. youll never know that the special someone you are searching for is just there all this time waiting to love you.

    cheers,
    marvin

    PM00000060000000130 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm06

    • Marvin,

      The comments and feedbacks you leave in all my posts are greatly valued, they are very important for me as I shape my ideas be in painting or writing or poetry.

      I am blessed to have regular, insigthtful readers like you – it is to my regular readers that I am more transparent and allowing myself to be viewed naked through my words and my arts. I hope you will never get tired giving me well-thought inputs.

      I can’t thank you enough.

      I wish you well.

      ~ Jeques

      PM000000100000005930 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm06

  3. The poem is such an intimate insight into the textures and songlines of the soul!

    And your painting is rich with symbolism. The real skin of a person may just be behind the curtained window, peeping out.

    Painting and poem complement each other so beautifully, alternately adding resonant layers of meaning.

    And thank you so much for your delightful words on my blog.
    I have written a few tankas and senryus but loved your detailed explanation of them!

    PM00000020000005830 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm06

    • Gemma,

      It is great to hear that you’ve noticed how my paintings and poetry are entertwined. When I am writing poetry I use my mind’s brushstrokes to create images through words on pages, but when I paint, I use descriptive words in my head, so every brushstrokes could bring to the viewers of the paintings the emotions I put into every pieces.

      It is an accomplishment for me to hear that I have somehow achieved that in my works.

      Your insights are always valuable.

      I wish you well.

      ~ Jeques

      PM00000090000000530 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm06

  4. This is so lovely Jeques. Your paintings continue to enchant me and your words, touching and soulful as ever. What a wonderful tribute you’ve written here.

    Many hugs, G

    PM00000080000004330 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm06

  5. Geraldine,

    There are only a few times in our life when inspirations pour in, I think this moment is one of those few times for me. And I’m glad that I could share them to you who appreciates my works.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    PM00000090000005630 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm06

  6. magnifique! jenean

    AM00000020000005730 10, 2007 at 12:00 am06

Leave a Reply

