Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

L ‘homme qui J ‘aime

What If

By: Jeques B. Jamora

 

What if the poet in me dies,

What if my heart’s verses lose their rhymes?

What if my passion is gone,

And there’s nothing left undone?

.

What if my brush strokes cease to form my thoughts?

What if my paintings fail

Their colors fade

To worthless images?

 051609 014

“L ‘homme qui J ‘aime” oil on canvas, 24×30 by : Jeques B. Jamora, 2009

 

“What if’s,” too many to hold on

Perhaps, I should just carry on.

.

What if you’ve got enough of me,

And get bored of me?

What if you shut me up, and oh God,

You would stop, just like that!

.

What if everything’s done,

You and me forever gone?

.

Let it be written then among the stars in heavens,

Painted in the infinite skies,

And here on earth engrave them on the marble 

Of my tombstone:

 

Once, there was love here ~

‘Tis pure~

Though ’tis human for a man.

~

I may sound narcissistic, but learning to love myself helped me define the amount of love I am capable of giving, and helped me define the kind of love I am capable of taking.

Our greatest fears in loving, and giving and taking come from our human mistake of fearing to love one’s self. We go out of our self, we go places, find and wanting things, obsessing people, chasing love, forgetting the true source of what we are looking to be just  here all along,

Inside our hearts.

It is everyone’s wish to find that one person that would complete our story. Mine, too.

I wish you well.

~ Jeques

6 responses

  1. jeques,

    i like this poem for its honesty. how could one artist survive without his art? this is a hard circumstance, when suddenly you were rendered useless and your tools cannot be utilized. the mind and the heart matters above all our abilities. art is borne out of the inspirations when the mind and the heart merges in its understanding. your art is wanting to be born, like giving birth to a child. your art is your child.

    no one gets bored out of you as long as you stay truer to yourself. and your heart and mind agree with you. “what if” is a start of something that is worth pushing through rediscovering more out of life.

    cheers,

    marvin

    PM000000100000004830 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm06

  2. I may sound narcissistic,

    But learning to love myself helped me define the amount of love I am capable of giving,

    And helped me define the kind of love I am capable of taking.

    Our greatest fears in loving, and giving and taking come from our human mistake of fearing to love one’s self.

    We go out of our self, we go places, find things, obsessing people, chasing love,

    Forgetting the true source of what we are looking

    Is here all along,

    Inside our hearts.

    My wish is to find that one person that could complete my story.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM00000010000001930 10, 2007 at 12:00 am06

  3. Learning to appreciate myself has been a difficult road for me. I was too shy as a child and teenager. Yet a part of me wanted to change all that. Now I am a teacher, I find I am far more comfortable with me. I don’t know I would call it love. That sounds far too self-engrossed for me. I enjoy giving. I love to give ~ helping, encouraging others. I am happy with me when they are happy. But is that love?

    Delightful unravelling of thoughts in this post!

    AM00000050000003530 10, 2007 at 12:00 am06

    • Gemma,

      It is a long journey finding the self. It took me many years to come to terms with myself, to like myself, to love myself flaws included.

      I, too, once got out of myself to search and chase things that I thought would make me complete. It is only recently when I found my inner compass that pointed inwards that I found what I was looking all these time.

      The hardest thing to do is to tame ourselves, but it is the most rewarding thing to do.

      I wish you well.

      ~ Jeques

      AM000000120000005730 10, 2007 at 12:00 am06

  4. I hope that no one ever “shuts you up” Jeques. You have such talent and so much beauty to share with all of us. Beautifully expressed, as usual. It was great to “see” you over at MPP again. I have a new monthly prompt offering, perhaps you’d like to participate. For the month of June it’s: Sometimes…the Runner Stumbles. Stop by and read about this meme if you’d like to know more. I hope you do.

    Many hugs, G

    PM00000080000000630 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm06

    • Geraldine,

      My words and my arts are beautiful to those who appreciate them, I wish to find more people like you who thought my works are beautiful. You just don’t know how your encouragements propel this heart to move forth.

      I wish you well.

      ~ Jeques

      PM000000100000002330 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm06

Leave a Reply

