Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

My Oasis

There are times when we need to leave the safety of the harbor and answer the beaconing of the future in the horizon where the skies kiss the seas ~

The unfamiliar arched skies and the daunting blue of the ocean may appear uncertain, and there may be no written guarantee accross the seas but we take out our anchors from our sunctuaries, take the chance and sail anyway.

memories-from-home-008

"Our Sunctuary" oil on canvas 20x24 by : Jeques B. Jamora

There are moments in life when we have to leave the roads that are very familiar.

It is our human nature to explore uncharted terrietories.

There’s that part in us that needs and longs for the change of landscapes.

And so we leave the paths that are safe and take a detour, stray away from our every day roads, throw the maps and just go ahead and get thrilled with things new.

We all need to face our fates at a certain point and take that arduous trek in the desert to fulfill the only obligation we have in this life to reach our destinations.

2009-paintings-015

"Our Fate" oil on canvas, 18x18 by : Jeques B. Jamora

Such things happen many times in our lifetime. Sometimes we do it awake and aware, but often it just happens and we wake up one day in the middle of the desert, or in a new road, or sailing in the ocean’s uncertain blues like we are inside a dark hole and that only our presence could fill that void.

I chose to be aware and awake when I take a detour or sail – I don’t want to be thrown in the grounds unguarded. We can all control our destiny. We can all choose the kind of battle and our kind of journey.

Now for those who are wondering where I’ve been?

I’ve gone painting!

I feel like I need to leave the familiar roads, the safety of my harbor in writing and take a plunge into the uncertainty of the blue horizon that’s been beaconing me for the longest time. So I left the safety and the happy company of the language, of the friendly words that coquet my thoughts and the pages to answer another call of traveling alone in my journey with my art. 

It is important that even how far the distances we reach in our travels, we need to be in touch with the isles that once became our harbor, and the trails that would lead us back to the roads that we once took that brought us where we are at the moment.

"our trail" oil on canvas, 24x30 by : Jeques B. Jamora

"Our Trail" oil on canvas 24x30 by : Jeques B. Jamora, 2009

No matter how long we travelled in the deserts of this life, we need to be in touch with things and people that once became our oasis. Poetry and writing are the oasis of my soul. And I will always be back here, now and again, to drink and dine in the bounty of their  inspiration.

~

You are my daily dose of life,

My daily drop of hope.

You are the reason I’m moving on,

And why I need to cope.

~

You are my oasis

In this life’s desert

So I can stand up

And walk.

~

My love,  you are the oasis of my heart, and I will always be back in your sunctuary, in the comfort and warmth of your presence for it is you who makes my journey worthwhile. 

 

6 responses

  1. Marvin

    jeques,

    i would say that the blue painting evokes more drama for me. is it because i like the color blue? or maybe the word too, rings something familiar with my daily existence. blue is my daily oasis, that keep me glued to reality. blue is the anchor that keep me sane, after all the superficialities i am facing each day when i go outside the world, somewhere out there in the sun.

    like your painting, blue have become a curtain closing at the end of a life’s drama. the rope that entangles the present will eventually be cut, with all its heaviness sinking down along with that pair of slippers. didn’t i notice that the slippers is a sign of something new. it never worn out after all. maybe in a life’s episode, there is rising again out of the blue, and the person who is wearing those slippers might have been strengthened by the lessons of the deep. lessons which were learned in captivity. lessons borne out from the grip of life’s loneliness and despair.

    isn’t it, that the color blue symbolizes life? water, though it is scary to think of drowning, can be a rewarding experience in conquering fears. humans have so many fears, which in reality, accounts to nothing. have you experience the tranquility when you are submerged in water like that in your painting? tell me what’s your take.

    cheers,
    marvin

    PM00000070000001631 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm05

  2. Marvin,

    Your comments are thought-provoking, drew me back to that abyss, to that dark hole again when I wrote this and paint the pieces, back to the deeps where I got the enlightenment from the many questions I ask life.

    Indeed, blue a color metaphor for things uncharted in this life and could be daunting like plunging in the ocean, or taking flight in the skies, starting things new, swimming to the deeps in anything in life: dreams, journey, love . . .

    It is always hard to start and make that first step into that hole, to fill that void that only our presence could complete. But once you get into it, you will discover there’s no other place, there’s no other moment, there’s no other time but the present, for you. And that everything you went through, everything that you’ve been, the places you went and go led you there and the blue is never the same again. And then you will see and appreciate more colors, inside that abyss are rapture of colors, of experience, of life that I would have not seen if I didn’t took the blue.

    I learned to befriend everything inside this chasm, all the elements in the deeps I try to understand – they actually help me understand. The process of knowing in fact is like catching the damselflies, you don’t chase them, they alight on your palms.

    Your personal journey laid in your comment having the first hand experience working in the desert, out in the sun gave this piece volumes of dimension. I believe, those who really felt the heat, saw the mirage and exactly knew what an oasis mean are the only people who could connect to my real intentions in this piece completely.

    I am graced by your inputs, you gave my thoughts solid frames so they could be viewed clearly like photographs hanged in the walls.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    PM00000090000000231 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm05

  3. You have so much talent Jeques, it’s wonderful that you continue to expand on your creative pursuits. I love to see the paintings you’ve done. And your first paragraph, so true. It takes courage though, and much contemplation too. But there is a time to act and that time isn’t always when we expect it to be or how we envisioned. Well said J. Hugs, G 🙂

    PM00000080000001831 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm05

    • Geraldine,

      I can’t afford to let go now. Eversince I found and re-discovered the thing that makes my soul really happy, I am married to it. This is second chance for me, I value it even more knowing that it is God who guided me back and gave me this second wave.

      I wish you well.

      ~ Jeques

      AM000000120000001230 10, 2007 at 12:00 am06

  4. Jeques, you never fail to astonish me. Your paintings, your words and the sentiments within them are an inspiration. Your short but very sweet poem provides the perfect end to a beautiful post.

    AM00000030000003831 10, 2007 at 12:00 am05

    • Thanks Keith!

      It is always a joy and inspiration having you around and get such words of reassurance about my works from you. I always value your feedbacks and your opinion of my works I always take with high regard.

      I wish you well.

      ~ Jeques

      AM000000120000001330 10, 2007 at 12:00 am06

Leave a Reply

