Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

A Prelude To A Million Dreams

My creative muse prompts me to begin writing on a fresh page as I start a new process of knowing. This is the time of my life when I do things because I feel like doing them. Like, I write because I would like to read my thoughts tangible in words taking form written on pages, so I would get a better grasp of them.

to-the-deeps-0151

Like the damselflies of my childhood, I don’t chase my thoughts anymore now that I’m grown up. My mind, like my palms to the damdelflies, I will open so dreams and thoughts could freely alight to show me their beauty. I will befriend this elusive guests instead of running after them like I did during my reckless youth. Perhaps this way, I could encourage their frequent visits.

"to the deeps" #1, oil on canvas by : Jeques B. Jamora, 2009

To The Deeps

At midnight

When half the world is asleep,

The prying eyes of the nocturnal owl

Stay alert for mice dozing undergrownds.

."to the deeps" #2, oil on canvas by : Jeques B. Jamora, 2009

A turtle slowly prowls in a swamp

Disturbing the resting fishes

On the shallow waters.

."to the deeps" #3, oil on canvas, 20x20 by : Jeques B. Jamora, 2009

Somewhere, you are confined

Asleep in your room dreaming.

While I stay awake questioning.

.#to the deeps" #4, oil on canvas, 20x20, by : Jeques B. Jamora, 2009

Am I part of your dreams tonight?

Would I take part in your life

When you awake in the morning?

.to-the-deeps-010

The night ends

With the owl catching no mice.

The fishes has gone to The deeps,

But the turtle hasn’t reach where ’tis going.

Just like me with my doubts never fading.

."to-the-deeps" #2 and 3

But nevertheless always wishing

That one day I’d stop questioning

And to The deeps I’d just let the fishes

Swim.

"to-the-deeps" #3 and 4

Unhurried thoughts and dreams come pellucid like the reflection of the summer skies on a placid river. I aim to write my thoughts that way: to achieve such clarity. These thoughts, my dreams reflected on pages as I allow the readers to grasp them like viewing the river and the skies on a clear summer day.

But sometimes, words are just ain’t enough. There are thoughts and dreams conceived that come in defined shapes, definite forms and rich colors. So I capture them in sketches. Such thoughts and dreams come alive on pads as my pen and pencil give them skin and the ink give them blood and the images from my mind come throbbing alive in sketches.

But then again, oftentimes, I am haunted by vivid dreams and thoughts that not my pen and the pencil nor the ink are enough to breath them life, to bring them the colors like the coquettish fishes flirting my mind with their exotic dance moves in the river where my mind often hovers. They demand to be born and inhabit the canvas, and only my brush strokes could give them soul, only the pallette could bring to life their hued reflections flickering in my imagination ~

Conspicuous in light and shadows.

This is the time of my life when I am fully in touched with my creative muse and the river of my mind is on its calmest state, where any minute movements are reflected that could stir ripples of dreams, and rapture of colors like the blossoms in springtime. The pages and the pads and the canvas are like the verdant fields where my dreams bloom. They are like the river in my mind where the fishes swim to the deeps in their coquettish dance moves that preludes to a million dreams.

The damselfly is within reach – I am taking time to appreciate his beauty as he hovers and I, motionless wishing the damselfly would soon alight in my palms.

Who says that dreams are black and white?

oil on canvas 20X20 by : Jeques B. Jamora

9 responses

  1. Pingback: Pages tagged "blood dreams"

  2. thanks for sharing

    AM000000120000004730 10, 2007 at 12:00 am04

  3. I’ve been pondering dreams a lot lately too. This post has left me with even more to think about. Really enjoyed this one.

    As far as black and white, does anyone dream without color? I never have.

    Hope all is well in your world today Jeques, Hugs, G 🙂

    PM00000080000005130 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm04

    • Hi Geraldine!

      I continue to explore my life in the arts. Writing has to rest a little though to give me more time painting. If you have noticed, I posted already some few of my finished paintings here. This is going to be a long journey for me on my exploration of the colors and palettes and images of my dreams but I am ready. I am leaving some trails, and I’m glad to know you find time to visit to check out those trails, the produce of my explorations and for giving me feedback that help me carry on.

      I wish you well, Geraldine!

      ~ Jeques

      PM00000090000000630 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm04

  4. Marvin

    hi jeques,

    i never had a dream in black and white. this sweet piece of writing is a poetry for me. the prose is flowing like milk and honey and i admire how you conjure such powerful images on my mind. for a writer it is sometimes hard to knit the thoughts together into a coherent form, but as always you have proven that you are skilled in such. thanks for continually inspiring us through your gift of writing.

    cheers,
    marvin

    PM00000050000005330 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm04

  5. Thanks, Marvin, for dropping by again and leaving such inspiring words and always positive feedbacks of my works. I am humbled.

    My web nook is always graced with great comments everytime you visit.

    This is the moment in my life when my passion for writing and the visual arts in the form of painting come together in such an overwhelming fusion, I have to take this chance while my creative muse is so alive.

    I used to write a lot at this time 1:00 to 4:00 PM here in Chicago, but since I started painting again, this time is spent in front the easel.

    Please excuse me if I don’t drop by your site as often and drop a comment like before. But I sure I will get back to that.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM00000010000000230 10, 2007 at 12:00 am04

  6. Hi, nice post. I have been wondering about this issue,so thanks for posting. I will certainly be subscribing to your posts.

    PM00000020000000831 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm05

  7. Love the whimsical romance of your fish paintings, but the boy intent on rowing his boat captures the spirit of being intensely involved in a precious moment of being and becoming!

    PM00000030000003031 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm05

    • Gemma,

      You always grace my nook with your lovely and nourishing words everytime you visit.

      “… the boy intent on rowing his boat captures the spirit of being intensely involved in a precious moment of being and becoming!”

      Your words are pure poetry, Gemma. I am satiated knowing that you always see minute details of what I put into my works. “To the deeps” is an on going process, like an active verb word in present tense, like the oar tyke in my painting, like an egg hatching(more paintings with this theme I just finished will be posted within this week)

      Yes it is true, this work in progress holds the idea how the precious moment of being and becoming enriches the tyke, the boy, me!

      I wish you well.

      ~ Jeques

      AM00000070000000331 10, 2007 at 12:00 am05

Leave a Reply

