Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

The Man In The Snow

 

  winter-2008-044

(Photographs are from my winter, 2008 collection)

I’ve been trying to chase the tail of my thoughts of winter. It’s very elusive and by the time they start to take form in my head, the heart has given up, benumb from wintry frost. I need to take hold of my thoughts’ loose end, so I could untangle the thread jumbled, nagging me to get written.

I walk the frozen grounds of the earth, trying to find the pulse of this entangled thoughts under my chilled feet. I welcome the icy kisses dropped on my cheeks, on my shoulder, on my chest of this year’s first snowfall and opened my arms to accept its cold embrace hoping its biting affection give me some clues to the stories of this unforgiving season.

winter-2008-039

(“Man in the Snow,” a photograph from my winter, 2008 collection)

The man continue to walk the icy grounds, his feet digging deeper leaving frozen trails of footprints to a direction unknown.

The mind drifts away with the winds to the past  and the uncertain future.

The heart is undaunted.

In the midst of this season’s frosty silence, the winds croon the pines with sad notes whispering threnodies to the doozing earth tucked in a blanket of snow, as my soul keeps still listening and writing the songs of winter.

winter-2008-050

Crafted From Pain

By: Jeques B. Jamora, 2007

 

Why did you blow the candle off

That used to light my heart?

Now the daylight is tainted

Each day is gloomy since you depart.

.

Why did you cut the thin thread off

That used to knot mine to your heart?

Now the love tale has ended

And we are growing apart.

.

Why did you turned the music off

And stopped to serenade my heart?

Now our love song has faded

Who would replace to sing your part?

.

Why did you ripped the pages off

That hold the treasures of my heart?

Now I am left empty handed

Creating naught but worthless art.

.

But don’t feel sorry I’m not jaded,

You have loved me for my resilient heart.

I would soon be taking off

And soar again to a brand new start.

.

I guard the ‘lil flame inside me

Springtime would melt my frozen heart.

A love tale would sprout some day

And you’ll not play a single part.

.

I hum a novelly and simple melody

The tunes coming inside my scarred heart.

The lyrics are forming slowly,

A love song I’m enthused to start.

.

I pick strewn bits of harmony

Saving each treasure in my heart.

I thrive to live for one more day,

This pain I’m crafting to priceless art.

winter-2008-0412

~

 

6 responses

  1. jeques, such a poignant piece. it was a lovely written reflection and the loneliness is evident. may god bless you always and fill your heart with his abounding love and joy. the pictures are fascinating. cheers,

    AM000000120000003331 10, 2007 at 12:00 am12

  2. I still don’t really fully understand winter. For someone who grew up in a warm climate, winter is still hard to comprehend.

    I still don’t know how to write about it, I still don’t exactly know how to feel about it, I still just don’t understand, so I’m forever a child watching snowfalls like viewing it from a Christmas Card I once saw as a kid and dreaming of white christmas.

    I feel ambivalent viewing it now us grown up, flashback of child-like wonder gets mixed up with sad notes of the season. Like in the many things in life things are just different when we are grown up.

    Remember how we said it us kids?

    “When I grow up, I want to be . . . ”

    And then when we become it, it’s not really how we used to imagined it to be.

    I wish you well, Marvin.

    ~ Jeques

    PM000000110000004331 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm12

  3. Just stopping in to wish you a happier new year Jeques and all the good things to come your way. I feel your pain in many of your posts. I am sorry for that. I also experience your talent and for that I am grateful. YOu have much to offer.

    Hugs, G

    AM00000070000003731 10, 2007 at 12:00 am12

  4. PS: Just stopping by to see what’s new. Hope you are doing well Jeques. I look forward to ‘seeing’ you soon. I have a Write a Book Challenge (year long) happening over at MPP. Perhaps you would like to join the group?I think it’s going to be a blast!!!

    Hugs and do take care, G

    AM00000060000003531 10, 2007 at 12:00 am01

  5. Your unease with with this bitter snow-strewn winter is so evident in your pictures and through your words. In a few months time it will be bu a distant memory! Well done Jeques.

    AM00000040000002528 10, 2007 at 12:00 am02

  6. hi jeques,

    its been so long since i never read any of your new posts. but i guess, sometimes, its better to have respite from writing. but not too long. i hope you are doing well. cheers.

    PM00000040000003928 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm02

Leave a Reply

