Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

The Autumn Leavings

click audio to play soundtrack

 

I feel for the tree this season

The autumn leavings make me sad.

The tree must be cursing the winds

He doesn’t want his leaves to fall.

Like I sometimes loathe

The changing season

For I don’t want to lose a friend.

I feel sorry for the leaves this season

Their descent makes me sad.

The leaves must be praying

Their would be no rain,

For they’re afraid to fall.

Like I pray the departings

Would be less painful ~

Though I need to set a friend free.

For no matter how the tree keeps its strong grip;

How the leaves keeps on clinging,

And me keeps on holding on ~

I know we need to let go

And accept the changing season.

The tree, the leaves and I

We are sad of the Autumn leavings.

For we don’t want to lose a friend. 

3 responses

  1. Hi, Jecque. Long time no see. Hope you are well. Beautiful poem. So melancholy. I cherish the beauty of this season and the gift the leaves give us as so many of them announce their departing in such dramatic ways. Look forward to their return in the spring.

    namaste, Roldan
    http://www.on-common-ground.com

    PM000000110000005731 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm10

  2. Pingback: The Autumn Leavings (via Jeques’s Web Nook) « Jeques's Web Nook

  3. Val Erde

    Jeques – it’s beautiful, beautiful. Words and images, both.

    And here’s the thing about leaves falling and winter coming on… it seems that something’s dying, but it isn’t because deep within, there is growth, you just can’t see it. It’s slow, waiting, and growing. Bear with it – it’ll burst forth before you know it.

    I love the music, too – who is it/ what is the song?

    PM00000080000005931 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm10

Leave a Reply

