Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

While I Was Waiting

Waiting, I sit on the city’s park-bench

And observe the busy pedestrian

Like a parade, as time moves in a cinch.

.

Some images conjure up memories

Bringing pain back that feels like heart pinch.

Reminding me of sad journal entries.

.

Some happy thoughts, too, unreel in my mind

As strangers traverse the concrete walk ways.

Evoking flashbacks like films in rewind.

.

People swarm the makeshift stalls of flowers

Picking colorful blooms in varied kinds.

Their petal droppings are lovely litters.

But I doubt it would be conspicuous

To the eyes of a city street sweeper

Whose life a routine and contenuous.

.

A grain of sweat trickles on my forehead.

My body reaction is congruous

To summer heat ~ it shines like precious bead.

.

The sounds of busy traffic in the street

Subdue the past’s bells ringing in my head.

Years go on, but things hasn’t changed a bit.

.

And then, I feel light pats on my shoulder.

I see your face, my waiting is over.

When was the last time you paid attention to the details of life? ~ Jeques

2 responses

  1. Pingback: POEMS, POETS, RHYMES AND POETRY » Blog Archive » While I Was Waiting

  2. We should always strive to Be Here Now but so often we don’t focus on the moments as they come. You’ve captured this very well Jeques. Photo was a good choice too. I enjoyed reading this very much. Hugs, G

    PM00000080000005931 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm10

Leave a Reply

