Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

The Fan

~

The dusts had finally settled

From the stage arena

Where the battle was fought.

One genuine soul is left,

And remained standing,

Triumphant with her gift

Of voice

Claiming the throne

That’s rightfully

Hers.

 

 

 

 

The smoke across the skies

Had finally desolved

To the thin air

Of memories.

.

The once fierce bolts

Of lightning

From different directions,

And the dazzling colors of fireworks

flaring in the evening skies

are now gone.

.

And in the clearest

Of midnight blue

Of the arched heaven

A STAR

Emerged

 

 

 

 

A new born modern-day warrior

Victorious in tears

Lightening up

The once dark horizon

With her inner brilliance.

 

 

 

 

 

 And I,

A fan,

Will always look up

To heavens

To admire,

To be inspired,

To dream ~

And wish upon her

Star

That my dreams,

Like hers

Will come true.

One would only feel, fully, how it is to miss home when he is away. I now understand. Since I left my country, it is also when I felt that profound longing for anything Filipino. So I always try to re-connect in anything I could, to be bathed by waves of nostalgia, to get a temporary relief of the aching longing for the warmth of home.

Entertainment has the easiest access, but I didn’t expect it to flood me with overwhelming sense of home, I’m just an ordinary soul after all, a spectator in the ground silently admiring the stars; I’m just an audience, a fan. I only have the mega star, Sharon Cuneta , to admire since I was 6 years old, for she gave my life positive influences with her lasting stellar quality that continue to shine as she age.

 And then, came this brilliant soul dressed in worn clothes, crooning me with her ethereal voice that’s undoubtedly from heaven drawing my eyes to her flickering light from the distance, beaconing my ears to take heed of God’s love sealed in her voice that transports me home. I obliged to her calling, I became a close follower, I became a fan. And placed me to the company of the many filipinos who shared our admiration for her – she introduced me to many filipinos from home and abroad and our interactions brought me closer to home in the many months we fought with her in her battles. All these ease my homesickness. The kindred souls I’ve met, with her singing voice as our soundtrack in the moments we shared watching her from the distance, became my extended family and I never felt alone again.  

On the first week that she was threatened to be expelled in the academy, I was in the church that sunday afternoon begging God to give her a chance for at least another week to share her haunting voice, her gift, her heart – God must have been laughing in heaven, for in the first place, it is His hands that took me among his gathered people to be used as instrument in putting Laarnie Losala in a place He planned her to be.

My prayers was granted more than I asked for when Laarnie was declared winner in the recently concluded Pinoy Dream Academy Season 2. I thought my life with her would end there, but NO! I am haunted by her voice, I am drawn back by people in this group that accepted me like a family. Dlight, is one of them. So, when she prod me to write, I obliged and this is it. Laarnie’s gift had rolled and multiplied showering us with inspirations – let the poets compose poems, let the writers write, let the artists create and let us all dance to the tune that God’s hands direct us!

Let us celebrate His gifts!

(click this YouTube video clip to listen to her sing. credits to the owner of the video stars01)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F2R_vT-DNwc

___

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Klieg Lights(An Open Letter To Laarnie) « Jeques’s Web Nook

  2. jeques, an honest to goodness memoirs from a fan establishes you as the same person in the spectator’s crowd. you are one of the common man who shares the dream for somebody as if their dreams are also yours. I come to know Laarni through island girl, and I admire’s Laarni’s tenacity and courage through honesty. i like her version of “Light of the Million Stars”, (correct me if im wrong). its a church song that only few can give justice. Laarni has done well on her rendition at PWU Gym.

    yeah, im also a fan. i think enya would have been the closest to my heart.

    AM000000120000005530 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

  3. Marvin,

    It’s Light of the million mornings – that same song is one of the many songs that made me fall in love with her voice and her persona. Trully a gifted artist with a heart of gold.

    I’m glad to know we share the same admiration for her.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM000000120000001030 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

Leave a Reply

