Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Evanescent Romance (Sonnet)

~

We are joined by our hearts’ seeking radars.

Our souls converge at midnight’s starry skies.

We talk, our words are the infinite stars.

We feel so intimate with our closed eyes.

Our unions are chronicled by my pen.

The winds’ soft whistles signal your presence.

Your image flickers through my window pane ~

Silhouette of my dream-lover’s essence.

In my mind I touch the face of heaven,

When you croon to me lovesongs of silence.

Bliss is what my thoughts of you has given.

You illumined my lonely existence.

                         Romance confined in shadows of the night.

                         ‘Tis evanescent with the morning light.

~ Jeques

 

3 responses

  1. jeques, i like this line “our unions are chronicled by my pen”, such a strong imagery. there is a deep sense of longing waiting to be quenched in this romantic poem. such a restraint from a lover. controlled and not profoundly expressed love for somebody whom the lover might fear unreciprocated affection.

    PM000000110000001630 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

  2. Marvin,

    I would not be 36 and loveless if I have overcome that fear – but I’m learning. One of our many advantages as writers and poets is we could always conceal our truths in the metaphors, we could always hide our feelings between the lines and allow the receiving end to decipher our meanings. I know that would be unfair, but that’s exactly the essence of all these, a love that is founded in deep understanding are the ones that last because it is deeply rooted that not even death could conquer. I believe in forever – For love is stronger than death.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    PM000000110000005230 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

  3. At last I have a temporary computer to use while mine gets repaired ~ eventually! So I am tring to catch up on missed postings!

    Your sonnet is so swept with inner pains and longings. There is a real sense of what could have been if only… But then, is something really lost or unreachable while it still lives in the spirit!

    The beauty of memory and dreams!

    AM00000030000003330 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

Leave a Reply

