Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

I Don’t Want To Scare You

~

I have seen you before,

Many times,

In countless encounters,

Crossing my path

As I walk

To the many directions

That this life

Is taking me.

.

But I’m not really sure about you.

.

I thought

You’re just a dream

Appearing to me

Now and then 

In a trance,

Like a hazed mirage

Flirting with my imagination

As I travel on:

 

In the deserts,

And plains,

And valleys,

And hills,

And mountains,

And steep cliffs,

And shores,

And autumn leaves-strewn sidewalks,

And snow-carpeted pavements,

And cobblestone alleys,

And floral-scented streets,

And verdant meadows

And prairies

Of my life’s journey.

.

In those many instances

It was this morning

That I saw your very soul

When I sit 

To watch you closely

In the eyes

And you glanced back

To meet my soul.

.

In our too brief commune,

The busy streets

Rolled to a halt,

The clock stopped,

Time freezed ~

.

There was only

You and me

In an ackward state :

.

You,

Barely hidden

In the small forest

Of weeds and grasses and herbs

That grow their way

In a pavement’s

Widening crevice.

.

And I,

Scrouched down

On my knees

Wanting to touch you

And make a tangible memory

Of this rare encounter ~

.

But I don’t want to scare you.

.

I content myself

Recording in my heart

Everything that this chance,

This moment

Offers us to have

And to hold.

.

I didn’t even gave in

To the thoughts

Of taking you pictures.

.

And then

You gallop away

To the bushes

In a man-made garden

Of the city park,

Concealing yourself

From my sight

By taking the colors

Of life

In the place

We both inhabit ~

In a parallel universe ~

Albeit in separate spheres:

.

You and I

Together,

But not quite. 

.

I didn’t attempt

To run after you.

You are free,

Yes, you are.

But In my heart,

You are always home.

.

I don’t know,

I am not sure,

If there would be

Another chance,

Another moment

In my paths ahead

Of another encounter

With you ~

.

Would there be

Another forest

Of weeds and grasses and herbs

Growing in this city

Pavements’ widening crevices?

.

Would there be

Another morning

When time would freeze,

And there would only be

You and me

Meeting in the eyes,

As our souls commune

In the parallel universe

We inhabit?

.

Until then,

But for now,

I content myself

Holding on

To our intangible

Memories,

As I continue

To celebrate

Your presence ~

.

Somewhere,

In the lush bushes

Reappearing

Now and then,

Coquetting,

Galloping,

Untamed

In my imagination,

.

In my heart.

~

(A poem written about my brief encounter with an untamed rabbit, in the most unusual place in the City. Chicago, 2008)

 

 

 

 

 

7 responses

  1. Nice poem.

    AM00000020000002731 10, 2007 at 12:00 am08

  2. I love how this poem reflects on the brief moment in touch with wildlife! The weeds are a clue! I would almost leave out the mention of this being about a rabbit! The enigmatic mystery of what this could be is all part of the poem’s endearing charm!

    PM00000030000004531 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm08

  3. Oh what a great ending! And what a lovely tribute to your furry albeit fleeting friend. Well done Jeques! Hugs, G

    PM00000090000004231 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm08

  4. jeques, this is exhilirating. what a crescendo to the poem like a real rabbit when i am reading. this is one of the best poems i read so far. an amazing piece, very clear and a gem. i didn’t had any clue that what you are writing about is a rabbit. i can see some parallelism on human interactions. i had a lot of images on my mind when i am reading this and admire how you conjure them closely knitted with such brilliance and clarity of thought.

    PM00000050000001930 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

  5. Marvin,

    The encounter with the rabbit is real. It took me awhile to write it – after 2 encounters – the scene depicted here is the 2nd encounter and was timely for an experience with human encounter(longer story) and I thought that my encounter with the rabbit is the metaphor in some strange form that made me understand life’s essence of the moment.

    I weaved them together, sensible as you always are, you saw it. You have a great eye and heart to see and listen to what my voice was actually saying.

    It’s a blessing to find a reader like you.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    PM00000050000000230 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

  6. Quite a journey that, but I got to the end without being scared once. It made me think about about a certain girl called Alice who encountered a rabbit, once upon a time.

    PM00000020000003130 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm11

  7. Really interesting blog thanks!

    AM000000120000004431 10, 2007 at 12:00 am05

Leave a Reply

