Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Poems Can’t Wait

~

I was caged

struggling to breath

For awhile,

Suffocating

In the confines 

Of my full time job

That restricts rhymes,

Muting my poetic voice

To a defeaning silence.

.

Between the ticking

And beeping sounds

Of clinical devices

In cold hallways

At work,

Some poems

Croon me

With lonely tunes

Of plea

To be written

Which I have to Ignore

For now.

.

There are sick souls

Under my care

Needing my attention ~

The poems have to wait.

.

They patiently sit

In the waiting area

Of my mind

Overnight

Watching me

With those sad,

Sleepless, begging eyes

That break my heart.

.

At daybreak,

As I end the humdrums

Of my routines,

I search

For my friends

Finding only

Rows of empty

Chairs ~

.

Poems

Can’t wait.

~

7 responses

  1. If these are the criteria, then the poem How Do I Love You by the poet Elizabeth Barrett Browning would win hands down. Poems

    AM00000090000002231 10, 2007 at 12:00 am08

  2. Poetry is that glorious aether that transcends all understanding. Here are the skies, walls and halls and wells of the soul filled with deafening need to be trod, dived, flown ~ and heard. It is an active place, where no chairs should be! It is a landscape that needs to be breathed in daily! And poetry is the music recording being there!

    AM000000100000005231 10, 2007 at 12:00 am08

  3. Perhaps you could share some of your wonderful work with some of the sad souls that you care for. I have many years of experience in such a setting; it is heart-wrenching to watch and feel helpless to truly ease the burden of the sick and the lonely people, often left behind. This is what came to me reading this Jeques. Share your talents when you can. Shine a light and give hope to someone truly in need of something besides pain to think about. Hugs, G

    PM00000090000002231 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm08

  4. karadouglas

    I absolutely love this poem. It is so true. I get up many a night to write my thoughts before they escape me.

    AM00000080000001531 10, 2007 at 12:00 am08

  5. i symphatize with everyone. it is a must that we had some bits of notepads, pencils, ballpens or cellphone to record through anything that strikes us in a moment. the muse comes in a moment unexpected. but we shoud if we could, try to listen and record. but if not, we must embed the thought in our minds. yeah i have this dilemma too, i wonder how many beautiful thoughts die there waiting without being written. and i can’t remember them.

    AM00000010000001430 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

  6. Marvin,

    I really wonder what time where you are right now? Almost always, our reading and writing time zones meet at this time. I usually start reading and writing at 2pm – that’s chicago time, and it’s now 5:12 pm here. I’m taking my dinner while I write, I still have to read more of your works. Need to catch up after I wash the dishes and take a shower. See yah later, I hope you would still be there then.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM00000020000000330 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

  7. jeques, its between 10pm to 2am here in Dubai. I think we had 8 hours difference, and i am ahead. i think its just perfectly well that we are writing stuff at the same time. so parallel.

    AM00000090000005230 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

Leave a Reply

