Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Sunrise On The Ridges Of Concrete And Steel

I search for signs of home

In the arched-sky.

What I see are walls of concrete and steel.

I long for the warmth of a humid dawn

What I got is the chillly wind of the city.

I miss the morning laughter of home,

The cries of the iron birds taking off

From their concrete nest is what I hear,

Along the sleepless noise in the streets.

My nostrils take in whatever scent

That would bring me wave of nostalgia

What I have are the fumes of the busy traffic.

I need a single soul to remind me of home,

But he’s fast asleep in his room.

This is my saddest daybreak.

Watching a different horizon away from home.

And then it happened.

The sun slowly crawls behind those walls

And rises on the ridges of concrete and steel.

Its first ray catches the tears in my eyes ~

I see dazzling bright lights magnified.

And then I am enlightened.

Somewhere in southeast asia,

In one of the ‘lil isles of the Philippines,

This sun, in the same sky, in different horizon

Rises every morning at home.

And I carries the memories of those sunbreaks

For they are etched inside my chest.

Today turns out to be my happiest morning.

For I know now that the sun

I watch rising on the ridges of concrete and steel

Is the same sun that will rise tomorrow

In the home of my heart.

Only it will rise

On the mountain ridges.

5 responses

  1. Your heavy homesickness is becoming like a never receding ache deep inside you! I so wish I could help somehow. I am reading what seem to be a series of reflections on deepest pain and yet I can do nothing.

    Having said that, I don’t like to give up so easily either. I suggested a walk once before, but not really knowing where. Is there a park you could visit so you could feel closer to nature. A special place under trees?

    Please don’t retreat! Keep walking and searching!

    And I do appreciate your beautiful comments on my blog. You are most welcome to wander there anytime, but don’t feel pressured to make a comment. Find some pics you may enjoy, and just enjoy! Or even drift awhile in some poetry! I will try to make sure I post some beautiful scenes with you in mind.

    Gemma

    PM00000010000003031 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm08

  2. jeques, i felt the last picture is quite familiar. i think i have been there when my cousin’s daughter had a birthday long years ago. his husband hails from roxas city. there are so many fish ponds over there sprawling with prawns and crabs. oh i love crabs!

    well, i cannot blame you for feeling homesickness as recounted by Gemma, I had the same feeling too. Try to read my blog “Hongkong in My Mind”.

    this lovely poem has a perfect pitch to that feeling. and the sudden changes in landscape around you make it even worser.

    you will weather these feelings once you are accustomed to being away from Philippines. i think this is just a atart of your many journeys ahead.

    PM000000100000004230 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

  3. Thanks for your reassuring words, Marvin.

    But I think one could never really recover from homesickness until he is home.

    And also, nobody really wanted to leave home unless he is searching a home to build for himself. I am like that, I still have to find my home, only then will I ever recover. Or if not, maybe I just have to come home.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    PM000000110000004030 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

  4. jeques, i think i had some sort of mistake. the blogpost should have been “Frame of a Thought”, a poem I made when I was in Pok Fu Lam, Hongkong. this depicts my homesickness too.

    again, my apologies.

    AM00000010000004530 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

  5. I so clearly share your thoughts about being homesick. When I came from South Africa to live in Australia 10 years ago, my heart was broken…broken being homesick. There is nothing in this world that can compair to the familiarity of your own surroundings…nothing in this world smells like the soil and freshness of waking up at the foot of the hill, overlooking a vineyard. Oh….I still feel a pain in my chest and will always love home:) But…reality calls and we have to let the sun shine in our hearts…Warmest wishes always ~ Amanda

    PM00000090000001130 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm06

Leave a Reply

