Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

And The Rain Stopped

It is raining. The noise disturbs the quiet afternoon awaking me from my shallow sleep. I look outside as I lay still on my bed watching the rain pours slanting on my window. In the many rainy days of life this is the only time that I really paid attention to the cleansing elements of rain washing my senses in a drowsy afternoon.

 

 

It is turbulent outside; I am motionless inside.

I delight to the sight of the sparkling waters confined on the tips of the leaves and that magical moment when the gentle breeze shake the lucid liquid beads off the trees. Below are streams of rain water collected into small pools in the concrete pavement that drain to the gutter, to the directions I wouldn’t know. I listen closely to the refreshing sound of waters rushing down the spout near my window as I block my ears from the much louder and annoying noise of the down pours hitting the roofs and the grounds that now release that sweet scent of the earth when it rains.

The chilly feel, the soothing sights, and sounds, and smell of the rain calm my senses.

The heavens bathe the trees again. Quenching the thirst in our hearts and bring our wilted souls back to life so our petals could display their rich colors once more.

The heavens wash the pavements and the gutters and flush the arteries of the city from the clotted debris draining them to rivers, and lakes, and oceans and the filthy sins of the city desolves and forgotten in nature’s forgiving heart. 

 

Silently I, too, let the rain carry my own sighs down the drain and I felt the cleansing of my heart. 

And the rain stopped.

I watch the faint reflection of twilight in my window  and let it in. The view gave my soul a certain peace.

I am a better me like a cleared window pane after the rain.

3 responses

  1. Almost hypnotic! Like slowly spinning round in a trance-like dream! Beautiful but sad. There is such a dire sense of loneliness. And yet, the moment of evening seems to bring the friendship of nature’s warmth.

    AM00000090000003031 10, 2007 at 12:00 am07

  2. nice flow of words Jeques, a very hopeful post. sometimes,when we think that this is a boring day, but when we think deeply, you will realize its not that boring after all.

    hope you are doin fine there.

    PM00000050000003531 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

  3. it’s glad to know that there’s someone like me who adores and loves the rain. it’s a nice post. I know how you feel.

    Watching the rain fall down from the sky somehow gives me a therapeutic relaxation. It may sound weird for some, but I know you know what I mean.

    Thanks for visiting my site and I thank you for the comment you left. I appreciate it.

    -Bienthoughts

    PM00000080000001831 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

Leave a Reply

