Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Sunrise On My Pages

I turned off the light for awhile in my nook. My pages went to sleep as I allowed my soul a quiet rest watching the colors lurk in the shadows of my black and white dreams. I needed it. I need the time, I need the moment to clear myself from doubts, to free my heart of fears, to listen to what my soul wanted to say without the forbidding empty page and the blinking curser: Without me writing them.

My soul told me many stories. Inside me are heap of raw thoughts thrown in the junk shop of my heart waiting to be polished to become precious gems that they really are. So now, I allow the sunrise on my pages. It had slept long enough. I need to reconcile with my soul to clearly see its colors and paint the many facets of its hue. I need to listen closely to hear its music and write its songs. I have to give it time like I gave myself time for my worldly needs.

Because if I don’t, what would this life be?

~

Goodbye my eventide, the dawn’s now here.

Your clinging shadows are all behind me,

‘Tis time I face the light I use to fear

To welcome the promises of a new day!

~

I will now fold your comforting blanket,

Which has kept me warm and safe overnight.

‘Tis time I place it back in the casket,

My life’s streams will flow and I should not fight.

~

The morning knocks behind the window pane,

I am enthused to rise from my slumber.

To allow the breezes to ease the pain,

From the yesterdays I still remember.

~

I will open myself like the window.

My body yearns, my eyes long for the light.

I will miss the silence of your shadow,

But I can no longer stay in the night.

~

Farewell darkness my silent confidant.

You know my secrets and heard all my sighs.

Outdoors, my new grounds are turning verdant.

Hello sunrise, would you now end my cries?

~

The poem is an older piece I wrote: “My Silent Confidant” The photograph is a view of the sunrise in Bay-bay, Roxas City, Philippines.

Tomorrow, I will tell you about the fire works and the sleepless city. 

6 responses

  1. kristy4u

    Hi!

    I am Mis Kristy how are you! hope you are fine and in perfect condition of health.I went through your profile and i read it and took interest in it,if you don’t mind i will like you to write me on this ID:(veyekristy@yahoo.com) hope to hear from you soon, I will be waiting for your mail because i have something VERY important to tell you.

    Lots of love,
    Kristy!

    AM00000020000005931 10, 2007 at 12:00 am07

  2. You write beautifully and always from the heart Jeques.It is a pleasure to stop by and enjoy your work. I’m glad the sun is rising again at your nook. Hugs,G

    AM00000070000004931 10, 2007 at 12:00 am07

  3. I have missed your beautiful postings. It is wonderful to find you back again. Thank you for your amazing comments on my blog. I can only humbly say “Thank You”.

    Enjoy your sunrise and the new day it welcomes.

    PM000000120000000131 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

  4. OOOPS! I meant to answer your queries about magpies! The ones near my home are territorial. They visit regularly summer and winter. No migration involved. But then, I live in the cooler climes of Australia. Closer to the Equator could be a different story!

    PM000000120000001731 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

  5. I have read many metaphorical poems about night and the dawn, but never one as expressive and tactile as this. It is truly beautiful.

    PM00000070000004131 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

  6. Sometimes turning off the light, can give your soul a much brighter view…beautiful poem, I’ll be back, this was my first visit.
    sharon

    PM00000090000005531 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

Leave a Reply

