Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

30’s And Still Single

My first attempt with oil on canvas, 2004

“Una” (First), my initial attempt with oil on canvas, By Jeques B. Jamora, 2004

 

When you’re still single at your 30’s

You’re apt to be asked with some questions.

Like I’m always asked during weddings by my Aunties:

“So, are you next in line?” (to get married)

I oft find this question so annoying,

But I don’t get mad, I just get even.

So during funerals When I meet them,

Please don’t dare me ask them that same question:

“So, are you next in line?” (to be burried)

For I’ll surely get a slap on my face.

~

 “Solitude” oil on canvas, By: Jeques B. Jamora, 2005

6 responses

  1. To be “not married” is not the end of the world. I would be more concerned about having no friends. As I have grown older, more and more I appreciate what I am, without trying to be as others think I should be. It is then I know who my real friends are; those who accept what I am. And it is then I finally acknowledge that I have a strength of spirit which becomes a form of happiness and contentment.

    After that burst of philosophy ~ to your post itself. A very clever comparison of a comment accepted in one circumstance but not another.

    Gemma

    AM00000090000004631 10, 2007 at 12:00 am07

  2. Oooops ~ I posted too quickly! I love your art work! There is such a mystical aura round the first figure and a heavy, weighted atmosphere round the second. Both are beautiful!

    AM00000090000005331 10, 2007 at 12:00 am07

  3. we just have to wait cause there’s a right person and a right time for us.. 😉

    AM000000110000002231 10, 2007 at 12:00 am07

  4. Your paintings are wonderful Jeques. I especially like the one of the boat, so serene.

    When the right one comes along, you will know. Being married just because everyone else thinks “it’s time” is no marriage at all. And everyone in the world is not suppose to be married, at least I think so.

    Hugs, G

    AM00000020000000331 10, 2007 at 12:00 am07

  5. Hey! Jeques, To get married, you need a spouse. You’ll no doubt get numerous options available. However, the one that fits the bill just right always takes time to appear for most people. And when he/she appears, you’ll say the wait was worth it.

    And yes, I believe marriage cannot make you any happier or any less lonelier. Its companionship that matters, as a friend and soulmate.

    PM00000030000004331 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm07

  6. I know how you feel! I sing weddings for a living. Try that one! I used to think that people just said those things to be mean but I have chosen to believe that they just want everyone to be happy and think that marriage is the logical thing that would make us so. It’s taken a long time to realize that none of our lives are on a set time schedule. You will have everything you’ve ever pictured for your life and more as long as you are clear about what you really want for it! It will find you. Happy day! Calia

    AM00000060000000130 10, 2007 at 12:00 am06

Leave a Reply

