Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

April Rain

My senses tell me it’s about to rain,

I run and take refuge in a cavern.

Paying attention, I sooth all the pain,

And allow the rain to heal  me again.

Cavern

I smell the earth’s intoxicating scents

Brought by the swift pouring of april rain.

I seize the boon after the solemn lent,

The earth exults, now my re-birth will reign.

~

Brilliant drizzles of crystal clear raindrops

Quench the the thirst of the fruit trees of summer.

The rain showers refill the plants’ sweet saps

That would make season’s harvest juicier.

~

A damselfly alight on the reed’s blade.

Pellucid mist caught on its net-veined wings.

Raindrops form pools in the forest’s glade

The earth’s bosom bears the heaven’s blessings.

~

The rain stops and winds blow the clouds away

To bathe other grounds with april shower.

I’m enriched by my silent reverie.

‘Tis time I bequeath the cavern’s shelter.

I wish when april rain reaches your place,

You would pay attention and seize its grace.

~

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. So beautifully expressed Jeques. I love rain (you probably guessed that over at MPP)LOL!

    This perfectly captured the wonder of the rain and the feelings that it can conjure up. Well done. G

    http://www.mypoeticpath.wordpress.com

    AM00000080000003330 10, 2007 at 12:00 am04

  2. its very hot here in Thailand nowadays and need some raindrops. hehe. love the beats in each stanza. May shower is coming soon too…

    PM00000090000001231 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm05

  3. I like rain – in moderation! I can’t think of a nicer smell than that which fills the air after rain falls on warm dry soil.

    AM00000020000000331 10, 2007 at 12:00 am05

  4. jeques, in such a coincidence. i also wrote a poem about rain. it’s titled “october rain”. your words, as clear as ever, enchanting and gloriously captures a rare moment. your poem is like a camera, taking in all the right images at the right place and at the right time. i like the rain too. you can read also my prose “promise of rain”.

    AM000000120000002030 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

Leave a Reply

