Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Archive for AM000000120000000731 10, 2007

Transitions

transitions1

Life is a series of coming and going, of departures and arrivals, of leaving and coming-home, And in between are transitions.

I am fascinated with transitions. Each of life’s passages are spellbinding quiet moments that transform us: the stage of becoming.

Like I love to observe that time of day before sunrise, that passage from darkness to the coming of light and the raptures of colors that come in between ~ the advent of life: the dawning.

Like a child awakening and starting to see beauty, the sun, too, rises in the child’s face, when he smiles and that twinkle in his eyes seeing things for the first time.

We fall to rise. The sun sets, but tomorrow it is sure to rise again ~ and the transitions.

Many times, I stumble and fall and felt like darkness over-shadow me. But the morning makes me like a child again, seeing things in different ways, the dawning of understanding and so I rise again to embrace the promise of a new day.

t2

Goodbye my eventide, the dawn’s now here.

Your clinging shadows are all behind me,

‘Tis time I face the light I used to fear,

And welcome the promises of a new day.

~

I will now fold your comforting blanket,

Which has kept me warm and safe overnight.

‘Tis time I place it back in the casket,

My life’s streams will flow and I should not fight.

~

The morning knocks behind the window pane,

I am enthused to rise from my slumber.

To allow the breezes to ease the pain,

From the yesterdays I still remember.

I will open myself like the window.

My body yearns, my eyes long for the light.

I will miss the silence of your shadow,

But I can no longer stay in the night.

~

Farewell darkness my silent confidant.

You know my secrets and heard all my sighs.

Outdoors, my new grounds are turning verdant.

Hello sunrise, would you now end my cries?

(My Silent Confidant By Jesus B. Jamora, 2006)

t3

And life goes on. We progress to the midday of life.

t4

We learn many new things and many new different ways to reach distances ~

as far as we could go.

Becoming is always enriching than being: the hatching.

The bitter-sweet transitions: 

we love and get hurt,

we create memories and bruises,

get scarred but see the stars, 

And yes, we learn anyway.

t5

What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger.

We gain wisdom from our falls.

We reach a point of balance, the hard to earn equanimity: the mellowing.

And then we arrive before a fork road or the edge of the coast, the seemingly end of a journey but we see new horizons. We are to choose to move on or stay. 

Is it the arrival or another departure?

t6

No matter how far the distances we go, we are sure to arrive to a sunset.

The afterwords of our journey: the epilogue of life. 

The calm and quiet transition before we close our eyes.  .  .t7

The moment of bliss as we watch the last light before going to a peaceful slumber. 

t8t8

We arrive to the time of life when we need to sit back and see how life has been ~ 

reminiscing moments, finding joy in viewing snapshots of places, things, and people posted in the corkboard of our hearts.

Watching flashbacks, of our life in rewinds.

Like the spellbinding dusk, we find bliss in revisiting colorful memories.

transitions9

The roads that took us away are the same roads that will take us home.

For life is a series of coming and going.

Transitions10

Are the roads we are treading now take us away, or leading us home?

We dapart to arrive, like the sun sets

to rise again.

For life is a series of falling asleep and awakening.

What have we done in between? 

The Photographs were taken during my recent home-coming, and my visit to the spellbinding Boracay Island, Philippines.

Have you visited the Writers Island recently? Please do. Click link below:

http://writersisland.wordpress.com/

This week we are prompted in the island to write about “Spellbound” and “Awakening”

This is my contribution.