Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

My 8 Days Series Poem: Changes

day-1

 Changes (Day – 1)

You help me embrace life completely,

All these years I live but did not see;

All the wonderful things around me.

I always revere the morning, alright!

But not as intense the way ’tis today.

I see every ‘lil gifts somehow,

That each morning unfolds to me now.

My eyes are astute with colors, I know.

But not keen as my eyes now do.

I now see the silver lines in blue.

‘Tis not color blindness,

Dont get me wrong, please no!

I just see the brighter side of life now,

And these are all because of you.

So many more stories to tell you,

But I will just save ‘em for tomorrow.

I have written a list, it is long though.

But I would like to share ‘em all with you ~

day-2

 Changes (Day – 2)

The sun now peeks through the mountain ridges.

In hand is my pen,

And you’re in my mind again.

.

I’ve got to go on with changes.

You’ve got to know what exactly are these.

.

As I open my eyes to start the day,

I find things at the right places

As if they were all prepared for me.

I’m not sure of this exactly.

Have I look at them now differently?

Well then, I must really be so lucky.

.

Before, I would just drag myself out of bed.

Rise from my slamber with an aching head.

I’m up, but I would rather stay in bed.

There was no reason to wake up anyway,

Or move on and live.

.

But now, rising is easier for me.

Having you in mind changed everything ~

My thoughts, my life, my morning ~

.

You’re the reason I wake up every day.

Isn’t that wonderful?

‘Tis great, you see.

.

So many more stories to tell you,

But I will just save ‘em for tomorrow.

I have written a list, ’tis long though.

But I would like to share ‘em all with you.

day-3

Cahnges (Day – 3)

Good Day!

You must have waited for me

To listen to the story, I cut short yesterday.

.

I’ve disclosed to you how I wake up.

Today, I’ll reveal how I’ve almost stopped,

In the verge of giving up.

.

The agony is intense

The hurting is within.

I am sweating so cold that I almost give in.

I saw the light slowly dying.

My heartbeats are slowing.

My soul is dying.

.

This is not the first,

But the worst for some time.

I feel numbed, and I don’t seem to care.

In one brief instance,

I was almost there.

But something has changed within me.

I’m surprised I thrived today.

I heared my inner voice begging me to stay.

.

I gather my strength and just breath.

Darkness is behind me, the lights are ahead.

‘Tis your love that saved me from death.

You are my spring time.

Enough said.

.

So many more stories to tell you,

But I will just save ‘em for tomorrow.

I have written a list, it is long though.

But I would like to share ‘em all with you.

day-4

Changes (Day – 4)

I know you’re there waiting for this.

You want to know, what else is there,

What’s more with changes.

Well then, let me now end your weariness.

.

I was given a second lease of life, another chance.

I will not stop, I will go the distance.

I will chase my destiny,

My sails are ready.

I will reap sweet victories,

For you are with me.

.

In moments of uncertainties

Someone is ahead to pave my way.

He clears the narrow arteries,

He builds bridges for me.

.

He is my life raft in the rough seas;

My compass when terrains are hazy.

I fear no more my journey’s dark alleys,

For God lights a candle inside me.

.

So many more stories to tell you,

But I will just save ‘em for tomorrow.

I have written a list, ’tis long though.

But I would like to share ‘em all with you.

day-5

Changes (Day – 5)

My thoughts of you

Wake me up today.

You’d think, there’s nothing new

It happens everyday.

But listen, there are more changes in me.

.

You made me smile, ’tis more than that

You’re the source of my laughter.

You ease my sorrows, ’tis more than that

You made my days and moods brighter.

.

We become closer each day, ’tis more than that

We get along so well.

You’re my friend, ’tis more than that

We’re like secret lovers.

.

The morning turns exciting, ’tis more than that

Each moment is exhilarating.

I have good night rests, ’tis more than that

I’m at peace with God, you made my heart sing.

.

You’re more than everything I asked for

You’re more than anything I need.

And still, you’re more than all that.

.

So many more stories to tell you,

But I will just save ‘em for tomorrow.

I have written a list, ’tis long though.

But I would like to share ‘em all with you.

day-6

Changes (Day – 6)

‘Tis the 6th day, I’ve gone a long way

Changes brought me this far

I am immersed completely.

.

I’ve lived my life for no reason;

That’s how it used to be.

But now each moment leaves a lesson

You changed me all the way.

.

You’re in every speck of me ~

In my art, in my dreams ~

You’re in every details I see.

.

I see your face painted in the flowers,

I feel your essence in the air I breath.

I see your eyes sparkle in rain showers,

You’re a gemstone in the sands of myth.

.

So many more stories to tell you,

But I will just save ‘em for tomorrow.

I have written a list, ’tis long though

But I would like to share ‘em all with you.

day-7

Changes (Day – 7)

You pulled me up from a muck,

You released me when I was stuck ~

The better side of me were unlocked.

Looking back from where I started,

You enriched me completely, indeed.

For one, you’ve made me said

All the things I’ve ever wanted.

.

My mind in bondage has been freed.

The restraints in my heart ~ I once consented ~

Have been emancipated.

.

‘Tis great to think with a free mind;

‘Tis wonderful to love with an unrestrained heart.

.

A new beginning has dawned today.

You are God’s precious gift for me.

.

There’s a finale to every story

In changes, ours will end differently.

Our love-tale will evolve incessantly.

Till death it will grow in you and me.

.

There is one more thing I want to tell you,

But I will just save that for tomorrow.

My written list is now down to zero.

But I’d like to share one last thing with you.

day 8

 Changes ( Day  8 )

I started this journey blind.

There is no map for me to guide.

I only have you in my mind,

And my faith in God to ride.

~

The circle is now complete

Changes have reached day eight.

The winding roads are now straight ~

Changes unreeled our love’s fate.

~

What remain constant in this world are changes.

I can’t contend with life’s realities.

Love alone can defy all these.

I have seized forever in eight days.

~

You helped me embrace life completely.

A brighter tomorrow with you, I see.

You can be certain of this with me.

I feel stillness of heart with you today.

~

And now, what’s left for us to do

Is to make eternity come true.

~

Changes are the series of poems I wrote April 9 to April 16, 2003. It’s through this series that I coined my life’s Mantra: 

‘Tis Great to think with a free mind; ‘Tis wonderful to love with an unrestrained heart.” 

The images attached are the series of photographs of Bay-bay, Roxas City’s Sunrise, which I took during my recent home-coming to the Philippines. This is the beach where I used to do my morning walks, where I got the inspiration and where this series of poems was conceived.

https://jeques.wordpress.com/2008/02/05/when-the-feeling-is-gone/ is the recent sequel to the series.

 

Changes is my contribution for the Writers Island prompt this week: Changed.

Please click link below to navigate to the writers island:

http://writersisland.wordpress.com/

15 responses

  1. These are truly beautiful photographs. Indeed great inspirations for writing. Your series is very good. I will come again to re-read those.

    PM00000020000005629 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm02

  2. cricket51

    I enjoy reading your work. I especially liked “‘Tis Great to think with a free mind; ‘Tis wonderful to love with an unrestrained heart.”

    AM00000080000000329 10, 2007 at 12:00 am02

  3. I like your mantra, and the way you did this as eight days with the little refrain ‘so many more stories to tell you’ etc. And the very powerful final thought ‘And now, what’s left for us to do is to make eternity come true.’ This works for me!

    AM00000040000001129 10, 2007 at 12:00 am02

  4. Wow beautiful words about the power of love What a great things to live by ; a free mind and love with an unrestrained heart. Very inspirational

    AM000000110000000329 10, 2007 at 12:00 am02

  5. What a great post. I love the pics that you provide with the poems. I love the ending of “And now, what’s left for us to do

    Is to make eternity come true.” That is a great outlook on change.

    PM00000070000001029 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm02

  6. Gautami,

    Thank you, these photographs are produce from my recent home-coming to the Philippines. I’m glad you like them.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    PM00000030000002229 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm02

  7. Cricket,

    I wrote the series in 2003 and that part of the 7th day of the series became my life’s mantra. I’m glad you like it.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    PM00000030000005829 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm02

  8. SweetTalkingGuy,

    I’m glad to note that you like this poems from my 8-day series works well for you. The transition verse(refrain) between the days/poems in the series are also one of my favorite features of this series I wrote in 2003. It is good to know you like it, too.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    PM00000030000004929 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm02

  9. Marja and Jadey,

    Thank you for your visit in my nook and thank you for your nice comments to my post. I find joy in knowing that you like it.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    PM00000030000003329 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm02

  10. Beautiful photo’s — also thank you for your visit and comment … I couldn’t disagree more, men discreet, I’d like to see that … ROFL 😉

    PM00000040000005129 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm02

  11. Wow, Jeques. This is a very strong, moving piece. I like how it flows and changes yet is anchored in the ending refrain for each day. Just… really neat.

    PM00000040000002929 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm02

  12. Hi Jeques,

    I just wanted to thank you so much for your kind comment on my blog on my changed article. I was just trying to post to your Valentine seen in another light poem.

    I wanted to say Valentine, I hope you have a very Happy Valentine’s Day. In your poem it says you have never been called Valentine now you have. I hope you have a great day and I hope you are well. Take care.

    PM00000060000005129 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm02

  13. pri

    loved the photos…
    very strong words..and they keep u spell bound till the end 🙂
    and yeah…muss say…loved ur mantra …its awesome and i couldent agree more 🙂

    keep writing!!

    PM00000090000000129 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm02

  14. jeques, in changes there is always risk of finding that you are not the same yesterday. in changes, there is a risk of finding out what are you made of. in changes, you are threateneing yourself to be exposed of your fears and your honest intentions. in changes, life will never be the same again. i have loved the idea of this series. unique and done creatively interspersed with a photographic study.

    always been a winner about your writing. cheers for more inspirational poems in the future.

    PM000000110000003030 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

  15. Marvin,

    When I wrote this series, April(9 – 16), 2003, I thought I could never write a poem as beautiful as this again. This series of poem have greatly challenged me for 8 mornings I was drained after. But years had passed and I’ve written many new poems after this and I think I have outdone myself many times. But this series remains to be one of my favorites because the simple thoughts I put here are the purest of my intentions laid in simple words. And oh, by the way, did I mention the original of this didn’t come with this photographs? It came with my 5-piece sketches of “changes.” Maybe I should post it here. Maybe.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM00000060000002430 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

Leave a Reply

