Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Chasing The Lights

~

My story begins in the morning, before sunrise.

Stars are no where to be seen in the gray morning skies.

The roads are wet from the rains that bathe the humid night.

A quiet scene; shadows fade, giving in to the light.

.

I closed my eyes briefly and smelled the essence of dawn:

The scents from flower buds opening to greet the sun;

Ricefields smoldering with fog of morning after rain,

And the aroma of coffee from someone’s kitchen.

.

I heard the crickets’ noise behind the bushes fading,

And the frogs in nearby streams praising God for the rain.

My eyes sparkle to the lights of the fleeting moments.

The rooster’s cries awakened me from my reverie.

.

The sun now peeks through the lush trees, creeping up slowly.

In awe, I watch the drama unfolding before me.

A wild wanton wind blows my cheeks with torrid kisses.

I wish they came from the lips of love I longed to have.

.

The day is bright, the flowers I can now see clearly.

The verdant fields and azure skies in their hued glory.

I saw birds taking off the skies, soared, chasing the lights.

They stretched their wings wider as they fly higher today.

.

I feel like the bird embarking to a pristine day.

Like the fishes swimming toward the heart of the sea.

Traveling, I, too, am ready to conquer my day.

I tread the roads, and cross the sea ~ I am on my way.

~

I wrote this  on a road trip back home in the Philippines. You can read the complete writing process in my earlier blog entry:

https://jeques.wordpress.com/2007/08/23/traveling-chasing-the-light/

5 responses

  1. Pingback: fishing trips

  2. anujjha

    “May your joys be as bright as the morning, and your sorrows merely be shadows that fade in the sunlight of love. May you have enough happiness to keep you sweet, enough trials to keep you strong, enough sorrow to keep you human, enough hope to keep y”
    -Irish Blessings

    The depiction of sunrise and the victory of light over darkness is really appreciating.
    The dipiction of nature at the sunrise,the sequence of incidents in the nature with sunrise,gives me spritual meaning of nature.
    The nature is at best in your explanation.

    AM00000010000005531 10, 2007 at 12:00 am12

  3. anujjha,

    As always, your sensible comments and feedback gave me joy knowing that my words, my poem reach a heart that understands. I really appreciate your valuable and encouraging words and I’m grateful that you always share quotes that resonates to my thoughts.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    postscripts: This was written on a road trip when I still in the Philippines. You can read the complete process of how I wrote this in my blog entry: “Traveling: Chasing The Lights.”

    Click here:
    https://jeques.wordpress.com/2007/08/23/traveling-chasing-the-light/

    AM00000020000005131 10, 2007 at 12:00 am12

  4. This is a very beautiful poem, of excellent quality. Have you thought of having some of your poems published?

    PM00000040000004531 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm12

  5. M,

    Thank you very much. Getting a positive remark from you is inspiring. It’s my dream to get my works published some day. I just don’t know how and where. I wanted my works to reach more readers and perhaps touch more hearts in a positive way. I had 2 pieces before published in the Philippines’ leading news paper when I joined and won 2 writing competitions. That’s the closest I got to publication. I just keep on praying and trying to polish my works so I would be ready when opportunity comes.

    Thanks again for your encouragements and I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    PM00000050000000531 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm12

Leave a Reply

