Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

“1sts” (8. Snow)

November, 2006.

 I feel restless unable to stay focused on my review class, there is that unsettling force of a child in me that could not wait. I tried to keep my eyes and ears to the lecture reminding myself that I need this review and I need to pass the NCLEX. But the longer I stay sitted the more I become uncomfortable unable to absorb the lessons. My mind is somewhere outside. 

I excused myself out, taking the heat for a reason ~ it was turned high because of the anticipated snow storm tonight. I need a fresh air to breath. I went out of the building with only my sweater on to find out what makes this child-like unsettling force in me.

My eyes sparkle, I shiver from the mix cold and excitiement. I raise my head to the heavens, I opened my palms and my arms in acceptance ~ and for the first time, the snow touched my brown skin.That is how I’m going to remember my first snow. You just don’t understand how that feels. I was 34 when I first saw and felt winter embrace my being. The child inside me waited for that moment. It was bliss.100_00631.JPG 

November, 2006 (My first snow)

~

The morning after.

 I draw the curtain open and from the window I saw my world had turned white overnight. I view it wide-eyed like a child. The images of the lovely tracks of vehicles and shoes left in the snow-covered grounds was captured in mind and printed in my heart forever.  ~

 
November, 2007
 
Today, already an RN, I walk fast the concrete side walk, cotton soft to my steps with 5 inches of snow that carpet my path. The icy winds brush my my face with frozen kisses carrying my thoughts to distant past. I watch a child viewing a christmas card of snow in his home back in the tropics dreaming of white christmas.
 
The child has arrived. 
 

 

3 responses

  1. Man I love the snow. Seems as if you had great fun. Talk to you soon!

    PM000000110000002031 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm12

  2. Hi Ed!

    This is what I mentioned earlier in our previous exchanges. I was just waiting for the right time, and just got the perfect backdrop writing this in a snowy day. I’m glad to know we share the same liking for the snow. I had fun the first time.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM000000120000004731 10, 2007 at 12:00 am12

  3. I love this piece. It’s breathtaking, because growing up around snow, I don’t remember my first time seeing it, or the wonder, or the thoughts and feelings associated with it.

    The perspective is wonderful. I know people who think the wind’s caresses and kisses are bothersome and inconvenient in winter, but this outlook is refreshing.

    Thank you for sharing.

    Love,
    Bunny.

    PM00000060000003531 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm12

Leave a Reply

