Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

My Home, Your Heart

~

‘Tis in your loving heart that I found home.

This orphaned soul roamed, wandering alone.

To find a shelter he can call his own.

I travelled distances, I reached the moon.

With your bright eyes, back to earth I was drawn.

.

I know you’re not mine, but for now ’tis fine.

I know the grounds I stand, I draw the line.

But when I’m with you, I feel so complete.

‘Tis like coming home, embracing my fate.

.

And how else should I see it, in what way?

When all things seemingly are meant to be.

I am not sure of everything in me.

But why with you, I found my certainty.

‘Tis like coming home to eternity.

~ 

 

4 responses

  1. withserendipity

    This is so beautiful. One can feel the emotion that you expressed.

    AM00000030000004730 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

  2. jeques

    Thanks!

    Just one of my attempts in poetry, I’m glad to know it works well for you.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM00000030000004530 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

  3. brightsilentthought

    I think this would work exceptionally well as a song – a ballad. The words are lovely and meaningful, and it has a rhythm and cadence that is very musical. The way that each line is self-contained, yet linked in meaning and sound.

    You should consider singing it and making a recording, and posting that here.

    PM000000110000004530 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm11

  4. jeques

    This piece is actually a raw sonnet material. I just don’t have time yet to sit down and polish it to meet the strict requirements of the sonnet form. The sonnets really work well when read loud because of its rhyme and meter. It’s unfortunate that I don’t have a gift of voice to sing, but maybe if I could find a person to give melody to my poems then they may become songs that I would love to listen.

    You can find my other finished sonnet pieces here:

    https://jeques.wordpress.com/category/sonnet/

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    PM000000110000003830 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm11

Leave a Reply

