Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

I Lost You In The Skies (Vignette)

~

I see birds flying west as I look at the gray morning skies.

In my hand, I hold a glass of cold water.

In my heart, I contain the pain of letting you go.

I drink the cold water and along swallow the lump in my throat knowing that I’m losing my true love forever.

The cold water numbs my heart.

I look at the skies one more time to see the birds, or perhaps it is you I want back. But the birds are gone. I see only empty skies, like the void you left in my heart when we bade goodbye.

This is how I’m going to hold this day in my thoughts.

I lost you in the skies.

~

~ Jeques, 121305

2 responses

  1. jeques, i love this poem. the sincerity and the solitude is evident. the calmness, the peace, the sweet sorrow. you have captured the right emotion for this poem. i love the title. i like the meditative language you have used. the emotions that you brought along with this poem is pure and silently heart-wrenching.

    PM000000100000004030 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

  2. This is a real-life scene, Marvin.

    It happened to me, if you may have noticed it has a date: 121305

    It is important that we seize the moment because once we lost it, it’s gone forever.

    How’s this opening scene for a novel-poem?

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    PM000000110000002530 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

Leave a Reply

