Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

A Home-Coming To My Youth

~

I walk the same roads I trod at eighteen,

I stand on my hometown’s pavement again.

.

In life’s transits we’re merely passengers.

As I glance upon the streaming strangers,

I feel a certain familiarity

There’s strange kinship in the locality.

.

I take the same spot I took at sixteen,

I’m seated at the same station again.

.

I can’t move forward with my travels blind,

Flash backs of my past trips rush in my mind.

There are story-filled structures in the streets

We are commuters to life’s immense fleets.

.

I breath the same air I breathed at thirteen.

I’m home to the place of my youth again.

~

Before I left the Philippines last year, I did this. I went back to the home town of my youth. I’ve never been to Mambusao, Capiz before this since our family transferred to Roxas City a couple of years back. I did not really stayed long. I just took the public transport, walk the town, sit on places, observed and solemnly returned to memories.

Our hometowns are rich source of stories and inspirations, like a cradle, it keeps many things that conjure moments from childhood we would love to recall. Nobody noticed my coming and going. But I liked it that way, for I didn’t visit to talk to the present, I was there to reconnect with the past and I succeeded.

~

Child Once, Too

Let the child run free, uphills or down plains

Like a gazelle that gallops in prairies.

Let him swim in lakes, bathe in rains

And coquette like the mystical fairies.

Censor him not for he is free from stains

Trust not the filthy mind of the gentries.

Free the child from the restraining chains

And from the customs’ narrow bounderies.

Let him be for his generations’ gains ~

Allow the children to weave their stories.

~

6 responses

  1. withserendipity

    What a beautiful memory, visiting the famiilar.

    AM00000030000004830 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

  2. jeques

    There are things, and places and corner in our minds and hearts that are awaiting for our visit. Take some time to pay a courtesy call.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM00000030000005430 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

  3. In visiting our past, we get to re-live memories that either: make us happy, or care NOT to remember. Whenever I decide to re-live the past, happy is the path I decide to take. Why? Its what continues to motivate me to press on. We have gone this far, this road. Should we stop? I say press on so that the road behind us will be filled with more hapiness, more love, and more inspiration. Thanks.

    Edo

    AM00000080000004330 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

  4. jeques

    Ed,

    The past opens the doors of both the happy and not so happy thoughts. It’s for us to choose which door to open. Life is a mix of these memories, they are needed so we appreciate better the life we have now.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM00000020000000730 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

  5. Onin Potato

    You’re so poetic. I like the way you write. I am also from mambusao and now working here in Manila. people like you who never forget Mambusao is highly commendable, you deserve nothing less than praises. I may be living and working here in Manila but Mambusao will always be in my mind. I am a Mabusaonon and will die one.

    AM00000020000003430 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

  6. jeques

    Hi Onin!

    I’m thrilled to know there’s somebody from Mambusao reading this. I know there’s nobody who could appreciate and connect with my thoughts in this blog entry better than a Mambusaonon yourself. Thank you very much for your positive feedback of my work. (Do you have your own blog I can visit? I wonder how you found mine).

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM00000020000005330 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

Leave a Reply

