Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Fish Of Mind

latest-001.jpg

Fish Of Mind” Oil On Canvas 30×38, By: Jeques B. Jamora, Oct. 31, 2007. 

 ~

Last October 18 to 21, I attended a weekend get together and met up with my classmates and friends from college for our class reunion. It is just so unfortunate that a lot were not able to make it to the gathering. But it was a great moment for updates to reconnect the spaces and distances that time built between us as we move forth to our individual life affairs. Many Changes, and it is good to note that most of this changes are for the better. How years pass swiftly and we are in our mid 30’s now. But friendship remains. Inside, we are still kids at heart like we used to be.

In every gathering, taking pictures is a must and we did. Saved in my camera are the photographs of my paintings which I show to them and Ronald, our MD classmate finishing his Nephrology specialization At the University of Illinois Chicago Medical School became interested. We stayed in his new condo unit in our last night. The empty wall of his living room is a perfect space for a painting. We talked about his planned color for his place. I asked what are the things that relax him? Water, fishes, blue. I instantly have something in mind.

We had a great weekend. I coined a line to encourage and remind everyone to seize the moment and enjoy: “We will not be 35 next year!” It was fun like the old time, back in college ~ simple life, big dreams. Most of my classmates are now living their dreams and its inspiring.

I wasted no time. I started the painting I promised Ronald the following week and finished it October 31. I thought of calling him to pick up the painting by the end of the month, but November 3, the paint has barely dried from my finishing touches, and my painting is gone. Ronald dropped by my place to pick up the first painting I’m giving up in Chicago last saturday. I am happy to give it away to the person who first encouraged me to join a painting contest back in college. I told him, its my marketing strategy. He will be a Doctor with wide range of clients soon, my painting could get a good exposure in his place. I even reserved a space in his future clinic wall to display my painting. I am just thinking ahead.

“We are too small to understand

The mysteries of life.

We are but a ‘lil piece

Of God’s infinite creations.

We depart to arrive;

we leave to come home.

‘Tis great to wake up

In the morning ~

Especially when you’re home.

~

Before we parted ways, we planned already the next reunion. I hope next time the gathering would be in greater number.

I see fulfillment written in my classmates’ faces. Much has been accomplished in the years that we journey after college. I can’t find material things to make them any happier. So I just wish them, “Fish Of Mind.”

~ Jeques

14 responses

  1. ed

    Great artwork! I hope to accomplish what I set out to do, and if you are selling your artwork…let me know and I would like to add it to my collection. Or rather, start an art collection!

    AM00000010000001530 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

  2. jeques

    Hi Ed!

    I’m just really starting to find my personal style with painting, like I’m also finding my voice in writing, though painting and the art is been my passion since I was a kid. I don’t have formal education though ~ making me a self-taught artist/writer. I’m still not confident giving a price to my art works. I will tell you when I’m ready. Mean time you can view my other painting collection in my flickr account: http://www.flickr.com/photos/16275015@N04
    I posted the paintings I finished here in Chicago and on display in my apartment walls.

    It is encouraging to receive positive feedbacks on my work. Makes me want to learn some more. Thank you very much.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM00000010000005030 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

  3. jen

    jeques, saw your flicker acnt, you are sooo talented over! pa sipsip.. can I have one of your paintings?!!! lol.

    I been reading your post and super emote nmn ako. I like the way you write, full of emotions … so touchy.
    Keep it up!!!

    AM00000040000004730 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

  4. jen

    I enjoyed every minute of our reunion. Hope we can have another one soon! Misss ya!
    Yes, we not be 35 next yr!!!

    AM00000040000004330 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

  5. jeques

    Hi Jen!

    Welcome To My World. Yeah, I think I’m ready to show you guys my own world ~ sounds autistic ba? not really! Artistic, maybe.

    I’m really very happy to see you here. I’ve been doing this for quite awhile but I’m shy to let my friends read it. I mean, nobody really take my eccentricity seriously back in college. So I tried to conform, live and acted as expected. But when I was alone treading my own path away from you guys, I reconnected to this part of me. I’m glad to find myself. And here I am, this is me. Talking about one facet of me never known to everyone. You can read my “About Me” entry. Click it at the right side of your screen so you will understand better.

    Thanks Jen!

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    P.S. Pray that I can collect enough of my works so I would be ready to give my Kids(paintings) away. But not for now.

    AM00000050000004330 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

  6. Nice work, I love the softness of the koi juxaposed against the angular shapes of the greenery.

    Shanti Marie
    Artist

    PM00000030000005330 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm11

  7. jeques

    Hello Shanti Marie,

    Thanks for your visit and I’m glad to hear your positive feedback of my work. Coming from you who knows Art by the heart inspires me.

    The pictures of my other paintings are in my flickr blog:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/16275015@N04/

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    PM00000030000002430 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm11

  8. karen

    friend….i am so PROOOUUD of you!!!! i have been a friend for years..i even read and seen your achivements in the past but it is only now i realized how special you are…special in the sense that ..this art pieces are long overdue to be seen and appreciated by other people.i had goose bumps just watching this paintings as ive seen your emotions in them.i know that you’ve been through a lot…that’s why im very proud of you coz you’ve almost reach……. what was once a dream.KEEP IT UP!!!

    PM00000020000004130 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm11

  9. jeques

    Hi Kleng!

    I’m so thrilled for your visit in my web nook. You know that you were one of the few people who first saw my gift, encouraged me and believed that I have it. You just don’t know how important it was for me then back in college knowing that there are people and friends who believed in my gift. I am forever grateful.

    As I’ve always said, I really don’t know where this path is taking me but I just keep on moving forward, I’m sure I’m not lost, I’ll find out when I get there. Thank you for contenually pushing me. Simple words of encouragement coming from people who know me work magic.

    I hope to see you here often. I’ve been regularly writing, and posting new paintings whenever I finish one. Please don’t forget to leave comments so I would know your presence.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM00000020000005330 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

  10. ed

    I’ve said it before and I will say it again, I am luvin’ “Fish of Mind.” And the new banner is awesome!

    AM000000120000000330 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

  11. jeques

    Hi Ed!

    Your words of appreciation to this piece inspire me. I am finishing another painting, also with Koi as the subject, and I will post as soon as I finish. It’s taking me some time to complete it because it’s bigger 36×48, and because I got sick while doing it. Thank you very much for your encouragements and for dropping by my nook. I updated its look for better viewing. I’m glad you like it.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM00000010000001230 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

  12. Jude

    Jeques, you’re trully EXCEPTIONAL! I’m glad that you came out and share your outstanding work of arts here. I was amazed and inspired by your writings and paintings…It really reflects your personality….Just Go On…. and be a shining Star to everyone!

    PM000000110000000031 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm01

  13. Judith,

    Thank you very much for your visit and I’m humbled by your words.
    It’s always great to see my classmates from college coming here, it’s my joy knowing that you are happy with what I’m doing. Your words are encouraging.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM00000010000000631 10, 2007 at 12:00 am01

  14. jenny placko

    Hi Jeques. Wow. Just amazing work. Keep it up.

    AM00000070000003531 10, 2007 at 12:00 am01

Leave a Reply

