Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

While I Was Waiting

~

Waiting, I sit on the city’s park-bench

And observe the busy pedestrian

Like a parade, as time moves in a cinch.

.

Some images conjure up memories

Bringing pain back that feels like heart pinch.

Reminding me of sad journal entries.

.

Some happy thoughts, too, unreel in my mind

As strangers traverse the concrete walk ways.

Evoking flashbacks like films in rewind.

.

People swarm the makeshift stalls of flowers

Picking colorful blooms in varied kinds.

Their petal droppings are lovely litters.

.

But I doubt it would be conspicuous

To the eyes of a city street sweeper

Whose life a routine and contenuous.

.

A grain of sweat trickles on my forehead.

My body reaction is congruous

To summer heat ~ it shines like precious bead.

.

The sounds of busy traffic in the street

Subdue the past’s bells ringing in my head.

Years go on, but things hasn’t changed a bit.

.

And then, I feel light pats in my shoulder.

I see your face, my waiting is over.

~

When was the last time you paid attention to the details of life? ~ Jeques

Leave a Reply

