Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Oyayi (lullaby)

~

I dance and flirt with the winds

Revered the grace of wild flowers.

Sniff their perfume that pervades

My piece of eden.

~

The birds serenade me with choice ballads.

Their corale are perched on the boughs of trees

That the crystalline spring waters nourish.

The leaves cup the dew

To cool the fruits,

Crunchy to bite in the morning.

~

Some days I’m bathe by honey drops from heaven.

Other times I’m soothe by sun beam.

Incessantly, the canopy shields me

From the scorching heat of midday.

~

I marvel at the gifts of every sunrise.

Am charmed by the sunset’s tranquility.

~

On quiet moonlit nights

I wish upon the brilliant cosmic dusts

To guide you to me.

As the daity’s hands rock my cradle

And the winds sing me lullabies

To blissful sleep.

~

3 responses

  1. the first part of the oyayi can stand as a poem alone 🙂 powerful images there.

    lovely lullaby

    PM00000060000002330 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm11

  2. jeques

    Thanks, Totomai! I’m glad you’ve noticed what I’m trying to achieve in this piece ~ strong imagery.

    Well, guess what? This piece is even longer. I just readjust it for posting here. It is an excerpt from my work in progress I mentioned before ~ a novel-poem. It’s complicated but I’d like to try that direction in my writing.

    Thanks for dropping by and for your valuable feedback.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM00000010000001630 10, 2007 at 12:00 am11

  3. jeques, totomai is right. the poem is encrusted like a crown of rich imageries. and the title itself is indigenious to our motherland’s tongue. though i like the last line, it seems like Bathala is rocking patadyong cradle under that moonlit night, such in the mighty Madyaas. well, this is a magical realism poem too,

    I will borrow the title, and I have a Tagalog poem in mind. But im still collecting images and proper words to convey the emotions.

    AM000000100000000230 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

Leave a Reply

