Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

The Heart’s Cicatrix

~

Deep in the core of a thick-coated seed

Is a dormant, delicate budding tree.

Be gentle when you touch it, and take heed,

‘Tis frail to the rough hands and unwary.

.

Seeds like vernal hearts need a caring hand.

So be careful my friend, don’t break any.

The scar you would leave you should understand,

Would be engraved in the heart and would stay.

.

As I observe the trees’ cicatrices,

I, too, am reflecting upon my scars.

My chest from outside has no blemishes.

But inside I’m bruised, countless like the stars.

.

‘Tis when I look upon the trees closer,

And only when I peek deep inside me

That my heart’s cicatrix I discover,

Is the secret of my soul’s true beauty.

~

part of seed series poetry, 011006 ~ Jeques

3 responses

  1. Pingback: www.topcholesteroladvice.info » The Heart’s Cicatrix

  2. jeques, the sadness i felt when I had read this has left my heart aching. i can feel the pain you felt. and somehow the words you have written are quiet manifests of what you felt inside you. the scars I imagine, should be polished by our forgiveness and moving on. we must let ourselves free from the nagging pain of yesteryears.

    PM00000070000002130 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

  3. Hi Marvin!

    I’m glad to read your feedback at this time we usually do our collaborations which I missed a couple of days. You must be busy.

    This poem speak so much of me. I actually have a collection of poems inspired by the seed. Here are some links:

    https://jeques.wordpress.com/2007/09/06/my-daily-letter-to-you-4/

    https://jeques.wordpress.com/2008/02/23/second-chance-from-the-seeds-perspective/

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    PM000000110000002430 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

Leave a Reply

