Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

My Daily Letter To “You” #4

I was loved by my mother as a child; she still does. She shield me the best she could. Nobody touch her youngest. And when I look back, maybe that’s how I learn my natural care for people, and my capacity to love. She mold me.

My father is cold. Perhaps he loves me, yes, but he loves himself more. I never felt any warmth from my father. He is distant. The closest I get with him is when we are around people. He likes showing to an audience how good he is as a father, how he loves me. But I never felt that because it desolves when the crowd is gone. I grew up wanting to prove him something. But he always made me feel that I’m not good enough. For many years I thought I was stupid. He made my failures even harder.

My mother gave me the applause that my father refused to give. She applauded me with every little things I do. When I fail, she is the person I don’t want to see. But she is there anyway. I grew up promising myself not to do anything that would make my mother less proud of me.

Warm and cold, they both mold me.

My creator puts me in a mold to shape me according to his plans. He engineered me, leaving his imprints through the things, places, moments and the people he sent inside that mold as I move forth. At this point of my life, I have learned to allow Him.

Life I’ve realized is a seed

Neglect life and it shall perish

Celebrate life and it shall grow and florish.

Family and friends are extension of God’s love to nurture the seed.

Joys and sorrows are moments to mold us.

The fruit is a sturdy, seasoned tree ~

 

You.

Whose hands do you allow to mold you?

I wish you well ~ Jeques

4 responses

  1. jeques, your mother stood by your side all through all your life. and she should be commended for that. it is so good to have a mother like that, boosting your spirit to fighht against the travails in life. though my mother in so many ways not perfect, but i have learned to understand the way they are. i am still be indebted to her from bringing me along in this world. but in honest acceptance that our parents, no matter how they had been unfair to us in ways we see then as a child. blessings will come, if we still love them no matter how they have hurt us. god will still be gracious and will protect us still.

    PM000000110000004430 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

  2. Marvin,

    If you haven’t read the book: For One More Day, by Mitchell Albom – the writer of Tuesdays With Morrie, please do. That book opened my eyes and helping me in coming to terms with the resentments I had with my father.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    PM000000110000000430 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

  3. jeques, im halfway reading it. see, i can relate and it has taught me to become thankful to mothers.

    AM000000120000001130 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

  4. Marvin,

    It took me some time to read it, I can’t stop myself from crying in many parts of the book.

    I read tuesdays with morrie when my father was diagnosed with cancer. For One more day, I read when he was dying in the hospital and I’m far away.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM000000120000002330 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

Leave a Reply

