Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Childhood Nook, Revisited!

 

Childhood Nook, Revisited!
By: Jesus B. Jamora (04/21/06)

I sketch a landscape in my mind’s canvas;
Tracing the figures using my child’s eyes.
Paint it with colors just the way it was.
I feel brimful of joy that my soul cries.

There’s the refulgent streams of the river
Flowing beneath the bamboos’ lush bowers.
Their drowsy whistles I still remember.
When winds blow through the leaves and the boulders.

There’s the rock that rests on the reef of stones,
Where the tyke sits when he would go fishing.
Silence croons him with nature’s pristine tones.
When a fish pulls his bait, his heart’s dashing.

There’s the lily that cupped the morn’s dewdrops.
Frogs stay motionless on their giant leaves,
Until an insect strays by their tongue traps.
Their prying eyes ever alert like thieves.

There’s the dragonfly that hovers above
My head and the tip of my fishing rod.
A scene I always remember with love,
It never fails to cheer me when I’m sad.

There’s the sun peeping through the verdant trees;
Casting their shimmering hued reflections
On the running waters like pageantries.
Moving me to profound contemplations.

Ah, idyllic landscape, ethereal arts.
We always have that child’s nook in our hearts.

~

 

2 responses

  1. jeques, i am dreaming of home when I read this poem and reminds of the place which is unhurried and innocent. if we could just get back to that place once, if we could. amidst the turmoil of adulthood, its nice to reminisce those times when everything is just so simple then. thanks for this post and i am refreshed that the childhood we had is not lost after all. we only visit them in our memories. in our minds if we wish to.

    PM000000110000001530 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

  2. never forget that nook in your heart, Marvin.

    For the child in you always awaits.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    PM000000110000000130 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm09

Leave a Reply

