Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

A Traveler’s Soliloquy (Part III)

note: please read the prologue and parts I and II first.

 

~

Wary of waking the isle that still sleeps,

I dressed up softly for my morning walk.

I sneak out to the hazed dawn in mild steps,

And resume my mute traveler’s self talk.

 

I begin my strides keeping myself close

To the shore lines of the insomniac sea.

I savor the briny breeze through my nose;

With consent, the winds kiss me torridly.

 

I took off my sandals to feel the sand

That longs to touch the bare soles of my feet.

The cool rush of breakers reach where I stand,

I commune with nature, our spirits meet.

 

My voids are replenished by the sea.

In return, I shed my life’s load off me.

 

— 

Boracay Island, Philippines. Summer, 2006

A 7-piece poetry series I wrote during my last summer vacation in Boracay Island, Philippines before I left the country in 2006.

And when I think of it, I guess it is true that people always arrive at the right moment at the right place where someone awaits them. From the book, The Pilgrimage, by Paulo Coelho.

 

3 responses

  1. so this is the moment of being independent finally. sometimes taking a risk really pays 🙂 thats how i see the poem

    PM00000050000001731 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm08

  2. jeques

    Toto, this poetry series tells the journey of a traveler(me – or in general all of us who in one way or the other take the road to life’s journey). Boracay is the perfect setting for me to express my inner thoughts in this series. Boracay is the physical journey – so the poems can be taken as they are told: expressions of my reverence to the place. But more than that, the soliloquy or my self talk is the journey I took inside me. The Prologue and Epilogue as I’ve mentioned are very important. The white flower which is a real thing(it really did happened as was told in the epilogue) was the tiny ripple of thought that inspired me to write the poem. I tried to connect my finding the flower at the end of my walk with finding myself at the end of the journey. The prologue is fictional of course, but personally it is symbolic of me accepting the idea “to let go and to let God.” “To jump and to trust that a net will appear.” Somebody above me is more powerful and He knows exactly what to do. It is an act of total surrender.

    The five parts with in the poem is the body of my soul search. Notice how my passing glances of the physical journey create thoughts as my senses absorbed the external place, so did my soul absorbed answers and arrived to certain enlightenment. Becoming independent, which you mentioned is just one of the many facets of the enlightenment achieved. In this part(III), I came to the understanding that I can only welcome new things in life if I learn to empty myself with the heavy loads I carry, most of them are useless in this journey. Sometimes, we are so afraid to let go of something or somebody because of the fear that we might end up with nothing. So we cling on it, we dwell in it and so we suffer.
    We depend our happiness to things, to place, to time and to other people. Their absence cause our life’s misery and we blame them. To free myself from that and from them is my first step to becoming independent and to finding happiness. That is the meaning of the first 4 lines in this part.

    I hope I can explain them to you line by line. But I know this little background I’m giving will guide you to my thoughts, to my soliloquy.

    Read on.

    I wish you well ~ Jeques

    AM00000090000005930 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

  3. Pingback: The Flickering Lights (Over The Horizon) « Jeques’s Web Nook

Leave a Reply

