Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

A Traveler’s Soliloquy (Part II)

note: please read the prologue and part I first.

~

I hear the sea nymphs’ songs from the distance.

Sirens chanting hypnotic promises

Of emerald waters, white beach romance,

Azure skies, sea breeze and glowing faces.

 

The day is still young on my arrival;

I got my welcome first kiss from the sun.

Everything here seem more than the usual.

Got to get started and get my sun tan.

 

Thrilled to debark, I took my place in line.

Marked with anticipation, my face glints

As I step onto the strand ~ cleanse by brine ~

Inscribed with tourists’ infinite foot prints.

 

I’m a ripple in the sea of strangers

In this lark-filled mecca for voyagers.

 

— 

Boracay Island, Philippines. Summer, 2006

A 7-piece poetry series I wrote during my last summer vacation in Boracay Island, Philippines before I left the country in 2006.

And when I think of it, I guess it is true that people always arrive at the right moment at the right place where someone awaits them. From the book, The Pilgrimage, by Paulo Coelho.

3 responses

  1. im seeing this as a metaphor of confidence, of being independent.

    i liked the images of the 1st stanza (though i’m wondering, whether you meant “hypnotic” on the 2nd line, must be a typo)

    the concluding couplet is great. an ending but could be a prelude to the next poem

    PM00000090000003331 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm08

  2. jeques

    I will reserve my comment after I have completed posting the series. Each piece of the series reveals something for you to discover as you contenue reading.

    Part II is a flashback to connect Parts I and III for my soliloquy to move forward. Each part could actually stand alone, you would not get the complete body of the thought though. The Prologue and Epilogue are very important ~ They hold the series together.

    Thank you very much for patiently following the trails of my self-talks revealed in this series. And for being quick to call my attention of the typo. I must be sleeping while I type. I’m a night shift nurse: Awake at night; asleep during the day and blogging is something I do in between. Oh, I think I should write about that!

    I wish you well ~ Jeques

    AM00000030000004231 10, 2007 at 12:00 am08

  3. Pingback: The Flickering Lights (Over The Horizon) « Jeques’s Web Nook

Leave a Reply

