Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

A Traveler’s Soliloquy (Prologue)

On the steep cliff at the edge of the coast,

Lies a vine that bears a rare white flower ~

Hanging in wait like a forlorn soul, lost.

The sirens of the calm ocean whisper;

Echoing with the mountains’ dirge like ghost.

These plangent cries pervade the dawn’s zephyr:

 

Let go of your clinging grip; it is time.

Your fate beacons from the unknown distance.

Hear the ringing of your destiny’s chime,

Answer the summons of this tenuous chance!

 

The flower’s ineffable faith in life

Propels its heart to will to face its fears;

To transcend many generations’ strife,

And to fulfill the tales oft told by seers.

 

So, in the young hours of the morning,

Along the threnody crooned by the wind

The flower cut its thin fiber clinging.

To seize its future, this passage’s end ~

 

 

Boracay, Philippines. Summer, 2006. 

A 7-piece poetry series I wrote during my last summer vacation in Boracay Island, Philippines before I left the country in 2006.

And when I think of it, I guess it is true that people always arrive at the right moment at the right place where someone awaits them. From the book, The Pilgrimage by: Paulo Coelho.

 

 

2 responses

  1. very Boracay-ish. you have incorporated all the sights and sounds of the island here.

    liked the rhythm of the poem. the beats and the stresses are natural. i’ll try to read the other parts soon.

    PM00000060000000031 10, 2007 at 12:00 pm08

  2. jeques

    These are my memories of the island. Since I can not pack them in my luggage, this is my way of taking the memories with me wherever I go. And perhaps share them to others through my poem.

    I wish you well ~ Jeques

    AM000000120000001831 10, 2007 at 12:00 am08

Leave a Reply

