Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

A Walk Around The Oval(sonnet)

Once more I walk the oval track today,
And ponder yet again, “What is my role?”
Am I just making circles every day
In life’s arena, like an errant soul?
I walk around the never ending trail:
A fallen leaf caught in a swirling stream;
Or like an army, ever locked in drill.
I am engrossed and walk in my own dream.
Some strangers share my lane but not my muse.
You’re far, and yet, our thoughts are much the same;
I’m not alone then in the road I choose;
Beyond the oval someone shares my lane.

                    In you my lonesome soul finds home to stay,
                    For in my heart you’re near, you’re here with me.

~ Jeques

4 responses

  1. whitecanvas

    like this! it’s beautiful, how u’v managed to express the thoughts with so few eloquently written words….bravo!

    AM000000120000005730 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

  2. jeques

    Thank you for dropping by and reading this piece. It is my favorite among my works. It speaks so much about me and writing it in sonnet form is one of my most rewarding achievement as a would-be poet/writer. I’m glad you like it.

    Looking forward to do regular collaborations with you.

    I wish you well ~ Jeques

    AM000000120000003630 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

  3. jeques, i only heard sonnet from Shakspearean works. But I had not tried it so far. maybe you can shed some light on how this kind of poem is done.i almost forgotten from my literature class. the sonnet had succesfully evoked th emuse in me. and it has created inspiration for me to write a poem once again. i almost imagine you walking the oval in silence, now it is just i am one of the spectators from the bench.

    the rhythms of words are perfect and it has this sing-song cadence. which makes it an easy read. do another round of sonnets and make a Shakespeare out of you.

    AM000000120000000330 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

  4. Marvin,

    I fall in love with the sonnet form before I even read the sonnets by shakespeare – just one sonnet(I forgot now the title of that first sonnet I read by an unknown poet) and I was captured by the refinement and the song-like cadence of the sonnet form. I researched, I read a lot of sonnets after that and attempted to write my sonnets. Find below a link to the sonnets I’ve written – I can not trace the others, they are strewn somewhere in the piles of my works here in my web nook:

    https://jeques.wordpress.com/category/sonnet/

    Sonnets are the hardest to write – speaking of poetry as really a craft. It is bloody, takes me many drafts and revisions before I comply to its strict requirements – but once you achieve them IT IS VERY REWARDING! I feel like a real poet writing sonnets. But I discovered one thing while in the process of writing the sonnets – it is harder for us not having english as our native language writing the sonnet because of its iambic pentameter requirements. I will thoroughly discussed that with you when I get the chance to write about the sonnet form which I’m not an authority myself – but perhaps I could share little inputs on what I’ve learned so far.

    As a filipino sonnet writer, I use my keen ears only to achieve the iambic pentameter requirement – like a singer who learned how to sing only by listening. It is very complicated and the time it requires for me to write the sonnet is too much, so I stopped writing them for now, but I keep on collecting sonnet materials I would polish when I get the chance – when I’m 50 years old. Hehehe!

    I will try to write about the sonnet form and share my knowledge based on my experience writing them. I will give you signal once I posted it. Please give me time.

    Free verse is the easiest form, but most of my sonnets started as raw materials in free verse form which I later polished into sonnets – that’s how it works for me. My incessant romance and journey with poetry.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    AM00000010000000430 10, 2007 at 12:00 am09

Leave a Reply

