Taming This Tyke's Voice Since 2007

Writing Makes Me Whole

 

In the long stretch of my fecund mind’s strand,
I gather my muse’s scattered pieces.
I use the pen, like pincer in my hand
To pick and write bits that form my thesis.

Fragment of thoughts, like seashells in the sand.
Meaningless words, worthless lines, homeless heart.
They are naught but seeds in a barren land.
They don’t even rhyme, but that’s where I start.

I write to capture these specks on paper,
For words slip my mind like grains to my palms.
‘Tis my existence that words decipher,
And from my illusions, I coin my psalms.

I’ve learned by writing: Life’s rife with chances.
There are new frontiers that I could explore.
I’ll move forth to arrive at distances.
I know a little so I wanted more.

But like the waves that return to the shores,
My odes, too, hope to touch your heart and soul.
I’m like a child in search for his treasures
‘Tis the readers’ hearts that will make me whole.

 

Jeques, 2006

 

One response

  1. jeques

    I do not know where my life’s journey with poetry is going to take me. I always have this incessant vision of me in my mind: standing on the bank of a river, I watch the water flow, and wonder from where the river came, and where life goes. I can only look as far as my eyes can see, and my mind can imagine.

    ~ Jeques

    AM000000120000004331 10, 2007 at 12:00 am08

Leave a Reply

